2014 Ford Escape Electrical System problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 20, 2016.

Rate this post

Ford Escape Electrical System problems and reviews: 18.

Are you driving a 2014 Ford Escape, or planning to buy one? Review reported Electrical System problems and defects.

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Sardinia, OH
Model Escape
System Electrical System
Speed 45

First Time (while Driving)instrument Cluster Needles Jumped, Display Read P Transmission Not In Park. Cycle Repeated A Couple Of Times Then Cluster Light Turned Off And Needles Went To Off Position. Display Only Read Prnd And Mileage. Car Taken To Dealer On11-7-13. Cluster Replaced By Dealer. Picked Car Up From Dealer 11-15-13. Repair Worked About Four Days And Same Cluster Problems Returned And Became Worse. Multiple Times Cluster Would Not Come On When Starting, Multiple Times (while Driving) Car Beeps And All Warning Lights Turn On Display Reads Service Engine & P Transmission Not In Park, Cluster Goes Out While Driving, Multiple Times. Today, Cluster Won’t Turn On, Cluster Display Is Completely Black, Heater Does Not Get Hot, Cannot Change Vent From Defrost To Dash, Radio Won’t Turn On Automatically, Display Above Radio- Time Is Wrong & No Temperature Reading, Rear View Camera Not Working. Car Taken To Dealer Today. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 400 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FMCU0F78EU. Ford Escape 2014 problem was reported in SARDINIA, OH. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

Nov 07, 2013

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Oklahoma City, OK
Model Escape
System Electrical System
Speed 30

The Dash Lights Will Not Dim Automatically As Described In The Manual As Well As From ford Technicians. They Are On Full Bright All The Time. An Analogy Would Be Like Having An Oncoming Car Having Its Headlights On High Beam At Night And Therefore Be Blinding. There Is A Manual Override To Adjust But This Must Be Done Every Time The Car Is Started. I Talked To A ford Rep And Was Told, “nothing Is Perfect, Deal With It”. The Local Service Department Has No Knowledge On How To Repair It As ford Has Yet To Issue An Advisory. I Would Think ford Would Want Its Sophisticated Cars To Work Correctly. We Will See. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 150 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FMCU0GX0EU. Ford Escape 2014 problem was reported in OKLAHOMA CITY, OK. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

Sept 07, 2013

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Dallas, TX
Model Escape
System Electrical System
Speed 0

The 2014 ford escape Has A Software/hardware Bug In Which The Interior Instrument Panel Dimmer Does Not Retain Its Manual Dimmer Settings. After 20-30 Minutes With The Vehicle Powered Off, The Instrument Cluster Dimmer Setting Reverts To Maximum Brightness Automatically. More Than An Inconvenience, This Bug Is Potentially Dangerous. If A Driver Perceives The Instrument Cluster To Be Too Bright, The Driver Must Manually Dim The Instrument Panel Every Time It Is Dark Enough That The Exterior Lights Are Required To Drive. ford Will Not Acknowledge The Design Bug At This Time Because They Do Not Think It Bothers Enough Customers. I Am Filing This Complaint Because If A Driver Happens To Become Tired Of Dimming The Instrument Panel Each Night Or If They Simply Forget To Dim Them One Time, They Could Become Unwittingly Distracted By The Interior Brightness And Cause A Traffic Incident. I Believe This Is A Legitimate Safety Concern And Would Like To See ford Be Encouraged To Address It. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 0 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FMCU0J91EU. Ford Escape 2014 problem was reported in DALLAS, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Nov 01, 2013

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Richmond, VT
Model Escape
System Electrical System
Speed 30

While Driving On Highway I Accidentally Depressed The Keyless Start-stop Button. The Engine Shut Off, Power Steering And Brakes Were Lost And Engine Would Not Restart By Pushing Start-stop Button. I Was Able To Slow Car – With Other Cars Close Behind- Shift Gear Shift To Neutral And Apply Brake Pedal So That Start-stop Button Would Restart Engine. I Have Had ford Dealership Check Keyless Start-stop System And They Indicate That System Works As It Should. Start – Stop Button Is Located In Drivers Right Knee Area And Is Two Inches From Similar Looking Climate Control Button. Power Steering And Brakes Were Lost With Engine Off And Car In Motion. I Contacted ford Motor Company And They Referred Us To The Dealership. This Is A Dangerous Design Flaw. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 9600 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FMCU9J9XEU. Ford Escape 2014 problem was reported in RICHMOND, VT. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

May 09, 2014

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Stony Brook, NY
Model Escape
System Electrical System
Speed 0

The Wipers Stopped Working Correctly. With The Headlights Not On, The Wipers Would Work Erratically And Not Efficiently, Causing An Unsafe Drive During Rain. Additionally, When The Headlights Were Turned On, The Wipers Stopped Working Altogether. Trying To Ride Home In The Dark With No Lights, Nor Wipers Functioning Correctly Caused An Unsafe Situation. Additionally, The Signals And Parking Lights Are Dimming And Not Working Properly. The Car Is Presently At The Dealer For Two Days- Has Not Been Looked At Yet. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 13000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FMCU0F77EU. Ford Escape 2014 problem was reported in STONY BROOK, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

June 14, 2014

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Great Falls, MT
Model Escape
System Electrical System
Speed 40

While Driving My Vehicle It’s Approach Sensor Went Off. I Thought It Was Due To Being In Traffic But Then It Went Off On A Constant High Pitch Squeal. It Lasted For About 3 Minutes Then Shut Off. Then When I Was On The Hands Free Telephone Device Through The ford Consal It Went Off Again And I Could Not Stop The Very High Pitch Squeal And I Had To Pull Off The Road And Put It In Park. Then It Happened While Sitting At A Stop Sign. The Squeal Was So Loud I Wanted To Take The Vehicle To ford And Ask For A Refund. I Could Not Stop The Sound And It Sounded Like My Speakers Were On High But I Couldn’t Lower The Volume. This Was A New Vehicle And Just Drove It Off The Lot About A Month Or Less. It Hasn’t Happened Since. *js

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 80 miles. Ford Escape 2014 problem was reported in GREAT FALLS, MT. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

Mar 03, 2014

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Omaha, NE
Model Escape
System Electrical System
Speed 0

Power Steering Has Gone Out In This New Vehicle 3 Separate Occasions. When Looked At By A Technician, They Do Not Know What Is Wrong. Been In The Shop For Over 20 Days. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 5000 miles. Ford Escape 2014 problem was reported in OMAHA, NE. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

May 30, 2014

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Ballwin, MO
Model Escape
System Electrical System
Speed 30

The Contact Owns A 2014 ford escape. While Driving 30 Mph, The Vehicle Made An Abnormal Sound And Stalled. The Contact Was Able To Restart The Vehicle, But The Failure Persisted. The Contact Turned Off The Air Conditioning To Prevent The Failure From Recurring. The Vehicle Was Taken To The Dealer, But Was Not Diagnosed Or Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Not Made Aware Of The Failure. The Vin Was Unavailable. The Approximate Failure Mileage Was 200.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 200 miles. Ford Escape 2014 problem was reported in BALLWIN, MO. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

Aug 27, 2014

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Borger, TX
Model Escape
System Electrical System
Speed 73

I Was Driving Along With Cruise Control On At 73 Mph, When I Could No Longer Accelerate, My escape Just Died With No Warning Lights, Stall Out Or Anything. Just As If Someone Turned It Off. I Had To Coast To The Side Of The Road. I Waited A Few Minutes And Tried To Start It Again With No Luck. When I Turned The Key Over, It Seemed Like It Wanted To Start But Was Not Getting The Gas To. I Tried 3 More Time And Finally Called ford Roadside Assistance And Had It Towed To The Nearest ford Dealership. I Am Waiting On A Reply (with No Loaner Etc) The Reason I Buy New Is For Peace Of Mind. Not Even , 10,000 Miles On The Car And It Brakes? What Gives. I Have Already Taken It Back To The Dealer Once (the Day After I Bought It) Because It Tries To Stall When Switching From Reverse To Drive, But The Dealer Made Some Excuse And Said To Watch And See If It Continues. I Am Just Glad That I Was Within Cell Phone Signal Range Because I Had Just Not Been A Few Minutes Before (scary). *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 9500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FMCU0G99EU. Ford Escape 2014 problem was reported in BORGER, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. Ford Escape 2014 drive type:FWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 73 mph.

Oct 18, 2014

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Portland, OR
Model Escape
System Electrical System
Speed 50

Outside Temperatures Were Over 100f. Vehcile Cutoff – Lost All Power And Was Coasting. Shifted To Nuetral To Restart – Which It Did. Pulled Off The Highway Called Hertz Roadside Assistance. Vehicle Cutoff Again While Parked. Did Not Immediately Restart. Restarted After About 10 Minutes. Vehicle Was Towed By Hertz.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 35548 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FMCU9H96DU. Ford Escape 2014 problem was reported in PORTLAND, OR. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 50 mph.

Sept 12, 2014

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Harrison, OH
Model Escape
System Electrical System
Speed

I Have Filed A Complaint Under Odi# 10640819 At 3.5 Months And Now I’m At 7 Months And ford Does Not Have A Fix. How Are They Allowed To Extend Customers This Long And Nothing Is Done To Them. What Can I Do To ford To Get My Vehicle Repaired? My Clock Also Has Been Tampered With And Some Electronics Act Stupid At Times. My ford Dealer Says Its ford But Who Knows? If They Do Not Have A Fix Then Give Me A New Car That Works. ford Is Useless And No One Cares As They Keep Saying I’m Sorry.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FMCU0GX2EU. Ford Escape 2014 problem was reported in HARRISON, OH. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Nov 16, 2014

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Port Saint Lucie, FL
Model Escape
System Electrical System
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2014 ford escape. The Contact Stated That The Vehicle Emitted A Burning Rubber Odor Through The Vents And Caused The Odor To Penetrate The Interior Fabric. The Vehicle Was Taken To The Dealer For Inspection Several Times, However The Dealer Stated That The Vehicle Was New Reason Why It Had The Burning Rubber Odor. The Manufacturer Was Contacted. The Vehicle Was Not Repaired. The Approximate Failure Mileage Was 100,000.

Vehicle was on fire. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 100000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FMCU0F76EU. Ford Escape 2014 problem was reported in PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

May 01, 2014

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Philadelphia, PA
Model Escape
System Electrical System
Speed 25

Car Just Exited The Highway. Drove Approximately A Quarter Mile And Made A Right Turn. The Steering Locked Up In Mid Turn. Fortunately There Were No Cars Parked On This Particular Street Or There Would Have Been An Accident. Managed To Straighten Wheel And Able To Pull In A Parking Spot. Car’s electrical System Started Shutting Down To Save Battery Power. Had Car Towed To ford Dealer. They Say The Alternator Was Weak. Five Days After The Incident And Still Waiting For The Part. Lost Confidence In The Product. Car Is Nine Months Old. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 8600 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):YV1622FS0C2. Ford Escape 2014 problem was reported in PHILADELPHIA, PA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

Feb 13, 2015

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
The Woodlands, TX
Model Escape
System Electrical System
Speed 0

Vehicle Would Not Start After Being Parked For Approximately One Hour. Tried Several Times To Start, Headlights And Dash Lights Would Illuminate, But There Was No Indication Of Any Power Going To Engine To Start. No Clicking (as With A Dead Battery – All Lights Were Functioning Properly). Waited 10 Minutes And It Started. Turned It Off Briefly To Go Inside To Tell Shop Owner That Car Had Started. Came Back Out, It Would Not Start Again. Tried Several Times To Restart And It Would Not. Left Car Where Parked And Called A Tow Truck To Take Car To Dealer In The Morning. Dealer Was Unable To Recreate The Problem And Was Able To Get The Car To Start Each Time. I Was Told That There Was Nothing They Could Do And To Pick Up My Car. Which I Did.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 12698 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FMCU0GXXEU. Ford Escape 2014 problem was reported in THE WOODLANDS, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Feb 02, 2015

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
The Woodlands, TX
Model Escape
System Electrical System
Speed 0

Once Again Vehicle Would Not Start After Being Parked For Over An Hour. Tried Several Times To Start. All Dash Lights And Headlights, Radio, Windows, Etc. Would Function, But No Indication Of Ignition When Key Was Turned. Tried Both Keys To Make Sure It Was Not A Bad Key. Neither Key Worked. Left Car Where Parked Overnight And Returned In The Morning. Car Started. Called Dealer And It Was Suggested That I Drive The Car In, Rather Than Have It Towed In. I Did. I Left The Car At The Dealer And Was Informed Later That Day That They Had Been Able To Verify My Compliant. They Indicated That It Was A Build Up Of Resistance In A Wire Then The Engine Was Hot. It Was Wrapped And I Was Assured The I Would No Longer Have The Problem. I Did Some Research And Found That Some 2013-14 ford escapes Have Been Recalled For Insufficient Compression Of Casing Around The Wiring, Causing Exactly The Problems I Have Been Having. All The Potential Problems Listed In The Recall, Short Of A Possible Crash Have Been Experienced To Date! My Vehicle Was Manufactured At One Of The Affected Assembly Plants During The Affected Dates. However, The Recall Indicates 2.0 Liter Engines. Mine Is A 1.6 Liter Engine. Therefore, Dealer Said They Could Not Do Anything For Me And Assured Me The Problem Had Been Solved. I Requested That The Wiring Harness Be Replaced Because I Felt Unsafe In My Vehicle And Was Afraid That It Would Stop Suddenly And I Could Crash. I Was Told That Repair Was Not Possible, Because My Specific Vin Was Not Recalled. I Was Assured That I Should Have No Further Problems. I Accepted The Return Of My Vehicle, With The Assurance That If It Happened Again, We Would Escalate My Request For Replacement Of The Wiring Harness. The Dealer Had My Car For Over A Week.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 12790 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FMCU0GXXEU. Ford Escape 2014 problem was reported in THE WOODLANDS, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Feb 08, 2015

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Cincinnati, OH
Model Escape
System Electrical System
Speed 20

“engine Fault Service Now Light” Came On Twice With “hill Start Assist Not Available” Both Times. After Stopping At Traffic Light And Stepping On Gas Pedal, Car Would Not Move And Gave No Indication It Had Stalled. All Normal Lights Were On. I Put Car In “park” And Restarted. This Has Happened Twice On Hills And Has Died On Me Four Times.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 5753 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FMCU0J94EU. Ford Escape 2014 problem was reported in CINCINNATI, OH. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

May 13, 2015

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Arlington, TX
Model Escape
System Electrical System
Speed 15

Whenever Car Is On And Parked, Not Moving, Or Going Slower Than 20 Mph, The Air Conditioning Does Not Cool And Blows Extremely Hot Air Into The Car. If I Am In Traffic, At A Stop Light, Getting Drive Through, Or Parking The Car, It Quickly Gets Dangerously Hot. Right Now We Have 100+ Degree Days Consistently, With My Child In The Back Seat I Fear Driving My Vehicle In This Heat As It Is Known To Kill In Texas. My Father Is An Electrician And When I Told Him He Said It Looks Like An electrical Or Power Problem Because He Thinks The Car Idles Too Low.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 18000 miles. Ford Escape 2014 problem was reported in ARLINGTON, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 15 mph.

July 24, 2015

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Ozark, MO
Model Escape
System Electrical System
Speed 65

Tl-the Contact Owns A 2014 ford escape. The Contact Stated While Driving At Approximately 65 Mph, The Vehicle Seized And The Battery Warning Light Illuminated. The Contact Stated That He Coasted Over To The Shoulder Placed The Vehicle Into Park Waited For A Few Minutes And The Vehicle Restarted. The Contact Stated That The Vehicle Was Diagnosed And Not Repaired, The Mechanic Was Unable To Duplicate Failure. The Failure Has Recurred Intermittently. The Manufacturer Was Notified. The Failure Mileage Was 7439. Am

Mileage was 7439 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FMCU0J9XEU. Ford Escape 2014 problem was reported in OZARK, MO. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Aug 15, 2014

2014 Ford Escape problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Ford Escape, driving a 2014 Ford Escape, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported FordElectrical System problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>