2014 Ford Escape Steering problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 20, 2016.

Rate this post

Ford Escape Steering problems and reviews: 10.

Are you driving a 2014 Ford Escape, or planning to buy one? Review reported Steering problems and defects.

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Teaneck, NJ
Model Escape
System Steering
Speed 10

I Was Driving To Pick Up My Daughter From School And The Car Steering Stiffened Up. I Was In The Parking Lot So Luckily Nothing Happened. I Stopped And Restarted The Car But It Was Still Stiff That It Was Impossible To Turn And Take Car Out Of The Lot. I Had To Leave The Car There And Bring The Kids Home On My Own. Not What You Can Expect From A New Car And Certainly Very Luck Y To Not Happen On The Highway. ford Saying It Is A Manufacturing Defect And They Forgot The Harness In The Power Steering. It Was Then Taken From A New Car And Placed On My Car. I Am Not Comfortable With It But They Said They Cannot Give Me A New Car. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 275 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FMCU9J94EU. Ford Escape 2014 problem was reported in TEANECK, NJ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Dec 12, 2013

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Richmond, VT
Model Escape
System Steering
Speed 30

While Driving On Highway I Accidentally Depressed The Keyless Start-stop Button. The Engine Shut Off, Power Steering And Brakes Were Lost And Engine Would Not Restart By Pushing Start-stop Button. I Was Able To Slow Car – With Other Cars Close Behind- Shift Gear Shift To Neutral And Apply Brake Pedal So That Start-stop Button Would Restart Engine. I Have Had ford Dealership Check Keyless Start-stop System And They Indicate That System Works As It Should. Start – Stop Button Is Located In Drivers Right Knee Area And Is Two Inches From Similar Looking Climate Control Button. Power Steering And Brakes Were Lost With Engine Off And Car In Motion. I Contacted ford Motor Company And They Referred Us To The Dealership. This Is A Dangerous Design Flaw. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 9600 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FMCU9J9XEU. Ford Escape 2014 problem was reported in RICHMOND, VT. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

May 09, 2014

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Leetonia, OH
Model Escape
System Steering
Speed 65

The Vehicle’s Steering Is Too Sensitive At Higher Speed. Generally Speaking Above 65 Mph Any Movement Of The Steering Wheel Will Cause The Vehicle To Go That Direction. When A Correction Is Made, The Vehicle Goes The Opposite Way (too Much) Which Tends To Make Vehicle Feel And Look As If It Wanders On The Roadway. From What I Understand This Is Due To “electronic Steering.” Many Complains Are Found Online Of The Same Problem With Other Drivers. This Is A Dangerous Crash Causing Problem And Drivers Need To Be On High Alert For This Potential Problem. I Would Think If This Is Investigated, Crashes With Causes Of Driver Inattention Whereas A Vehicle Goes Off The Right Side Of The Road Or Left Of Center, Sensitive Steering Maybe The Root Of The Problem In Many Cases. The Vehicle Has Been Inspected By Two ford Dealerships And Found Nothing Wrong. I Feel This Is A Engineering Problem Such As The Ignition Switches On The Gm Products. This Was All Pointed Out To The Regional Customer Service Manager Heather Nabb. ford‘s Response To This Problem Is Until There Is A “failure”, There Is Nothing They Will Do. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 2000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FMCU9J90EU. Ford Escape 2014 problem was reported in LEETONIA, OH. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Apr 01, 2011

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Omaha, NE
Model Escape
System Steering
Speed 0

Power Steering Has Gone Out In This New Vehicle 3 Separate Occasions. When Looked At By A Technician, They Do Not Know What Is Wrong. Been In The Shop For Over 20 Days. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 5000 miles. Ford Escape 2014 problem was reported in OMAHA, NE. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

May 30, 2014

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Farmingville, NY
Model Escape
System Steering
Speed 0

11/13. Had Car For 2 Months. Stopped For Gas, Fueled Up Got In To Leave Power Steering Gone. Had To Call Husband To Come Get Car As I Could Not Turn The Wheel. Had Vehicle Towed To ford Dealer. Dealer Not Helpful, Said They Were Able To See Power Steering Was Lost Unable To Fix. Vehicle Or Computer Somehow Fixed Itself? Happened Again 8/22/14. Thankfully It Happened In Front Of My Home & Did Not Need Assistance. Having Vehicle Towed To ford Dealer In Am. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 2000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FMCU9GXEUA. Ford Escape 2014 problem was reported in FARMINGVILLE, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Nov 14, 2013

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Grand Prairie, TX
Model Escape
System Steering
Speed 0

Steering Wheel Suddenly Stopped Working When I Stopped At A Gas Station And Gave An Error Message “steering Assist Fault Service Required”. Car Is Barely 3 Months Old. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 4155 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FMCU0GX6EU. Ford Escape 2014 problem was reported in GRAND PRAIRIE, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Aug 24, 2014

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Gilbert, AZ
Model Escape
System Steering
Speed 0

I Was Waiting In Line To Enter The Freeway. A Yellow Warning Sign Came On In The Car, And Then There Was No Control Of The Steering Wheel. It Locked. I Was Able To Crank On It With All My Strength, Put On My Hazard Lights, And My Daughter Hung Out The Window To Wave Us Over A Few Inches To The Right. I Then Entered A Safe Lot To Call Roadside Assistance. But, While I Was On The Phone With Them, The Yellow Light Went Off, And The Car Steering Wheel Moved. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 13400 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FAHP35N29W. Ford Escape 2014 problem was reported in GILBERT, AZ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Aug 22, 2014

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
San Diego, CA
Model Escape
System Steering
Speed 5

My Wife Pulled Up Driveway, I Happened To Be Outside Next To Car When She Pulled In. We Suddenly Heard Loud Crunching Sound And She Stopped. When We Found Nothing I Asked Her To Back Up. We Heard Crunching Sound Again And She Said The Steering Wheel Was Not Controlling Car. She Immediately Stopped. We Discovered Right Front Wheel Pushed Against Tire Well Of Body Frame. Next Day When Tow Truck Lifted Car, We Discovered The Ball Joint Assembly Had Come Apart. Perry ford (san Diego) Confirmed Ball Joint Appears To Have Come Apart Without Any Obvious Sign Of Damage Due To Impact Or Driver Fault. Note: My Wife Had Just Come Off Freeway, Traveling 15 Miles From Work And 1 Mile From Off Ramp To Our Home. If She Had Been Just Another 5 Min On Freeway Traveling 65-70mph…i Hate To Imagine What Would Have Happened. Please Investigate This Matter With ford.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 12000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FMCU0J96EU. Ford Escape 2014 problem was reported in SAN DIEGO, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

Nov 19, 2014

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Philadelphia, PA
Model Escape
System Steering
Speed 25

Car Just Exited The Highway. Drove Approximately A Quarter Mile And Made A Right Turn. The Steering Locked Up In Mid Turn. Fortunately There Were No Cars Parked On This Particular Street Or There Would Have Been An Accident. Managed To Straighten Wheel And Able To Pull In A Parking Spot. Car’s Electrical System Started Shutting Down To Save Battery Power. Had Car Towed To ford Dealer. They Say The Alternator Was Weak. Five Days After The Incident And Still Waiting For The Part. Lost Confidence In The Product. Car Is Nine Months Old. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 8600 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):YV1622FS0C2. Ford Escape 2014 problem was reported in PHILADELPHIA, PA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

Feb 13, 2015

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Evansville, IN
Model Escape
System Steering
Speed 55

The Steering Would Not Center And Lost Power And Locked Up Could Not Turn Right Or Left.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 39450 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FMCUOF74EU. Ford Escape 2014 problem was reported in EVANSVILLE, IN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

Mar 15, 2015

2014 Ford Escape problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Ford Escape, driving a 2014 Ford Escape, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported FordSteering problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>