2014 Ford Explorer Engine And Engine Cooling problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 20, 2016.

Rate this post

Share Button

Ford Explorer Engine And Engine Cooling problems and reviews: 16.

Are you driving a 2014 Ford Explorer, or planning to buy one? Review reported Engine And Engine Cooling problems and defects.

Engine And Engine Cooling Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Brooklyn, NY
Model Explorer
System Engine And Engine Cooling
Speed 70

Exhaust Smell Coming Out From Air Conditioner System At High Rpms (about 3500). *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 300 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8F8XEG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in BROOKLYN, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 70 mph.

Aug 10, 2013

Engine And Engine Cooling Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Sumas, WA
Model Explorer
System Engine And Engine Cooling
Speed

The explorer Sport (v6 Twin Turbo Ecoboost) Started Leaking Sulfurous Smelling Vehicle Exhaust Fumes (possibly Cyanotic ) Into The Car Which Made The Occupants Feel Unwell . ford Have A Fix That They Do Not Advise Customers About So The Fume Issue Is Known To Them ( Tsb 12-12-4 ). This Fix Has Been Performed Yet The Odor Persists In Certain Circumstances. We Have Little Confidence That The Problem Has Been Properly Resolved And We Have Little Confidence In Driving A Car With This Type Of Fault. It Is Disturbing That Oxides Of Sulfur And Hydrogen Sulfide Can Only Be Smelled Within Certain Concentration Limits And That The “nose” Becomes Insensitive To Them At Higher Concentrations. Other People Are Suffering The Same Problem And I Think It S Only A Matter Of Time Before A Driver Becomes Incapacitated And Has A Serious Accident. If This Has Not Already Happened. Many Other Reports Of This Problem On Various Websites. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 10000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8GT6DG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in SUMAS, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS.

Feb 01, 2014

Engine And Engine Cooling Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Gilbert, AZ
Model Explorer
System Engine And Engine Cooling
Speed

When Accelerating The Cabin Of My fordexplorer Fills Up With Exhaust. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1000 miles. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in GILBERT, AZ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

June 20, 2014

Engine And Engine Cooling Ford 2014
Ford
Location
San Diego, CA
Model Explorer
System Engine And Engine Cooling
Speed 55

Exhaust Fumes Enter The Cabin Area Regularly When The Sir Conditioner Is In Re-circulation Mode. This Is A Safety Hazard For Our Baby Who Was Born Prematurely But Has Had To Breathe In Exhaust Fumes When Riding With Us In Our Brand New fordexplorer. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 20 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8B89EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in SAN DIEGO, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

June 15, 2014

Engine And Engine Cooling Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Emeryville, CA
Model Explorer
System Engine And Engine Cooling
Speed 65

Upon Consistent Moderate To Heavy Throttle, The Cabin Fills With Fumes/odor Which Smells Like A Mix Of Exhaust And Burning/smoldering Plastic Or Epoxy. It Is Strong, Easily Repeatable And Happens All The Time While Traveling Up Long Consistent Grades Etc. Does Not Happen In Easy City Driving, Merging Onto An Express Way, It Happens Nearly 100% Of The Time. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 8000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8GT1EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in EMERYVILLE, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

June 02, 2014

Engine And Engine Cooling Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Boise, ID
Model Explorer
System Engine And Engine Cooling
Speed 60

Was Accelerating On The Interstate And A Very Foul Odor, Like Exhaust Entered The Cabin Of The Vehicle. This Has Happened On Many Occasions, With The Windows Up And Down, Ac Off And On, Heat Off And On, Going 10mph And Going 60mph, During Hard Acceleration And During Moderate Acceleration. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8GTXEG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in BOISE, ID. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

Sept 30, 2013

Engine And Engine Cooling Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Winkelman, AZ
Model Explorer
System Engine And Engine Cooling
Speed 60

Exhaust Fumes Enter The Cabin Through The A/c Vents Intermittently. The A/c Controls Must Be Turned On And The Vehicle Must Be Accelerating Or Climbing A Hill. It Loads The Cabin Heavily At Times With Exhaust Fumes, But Appears To Clear Quickly When Normal Operation Resumes. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7B81EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in WINKELMAN, AZ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

June 10, 2014

Engine And Engine Cooling Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Goliad, TX
Model Explorer
System Engine And Engine Cooling
Speed 65

Strong Exhaust Smell Anytime engine Accelerates, Such As Downshifting When Going Over An Overpass On An Interstate Highway. Not “hard” Acceleration Really. I Have Researched, And Know This A Common Problem, And Has Been Since The “5th Gen” explorers Came Out. I Know It Has Been Brought To The Attention Of Nhtsa, And I Am Just Registering My Complaint Hoping You Can Get The Problem Resolved. Thank You. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 72 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7F89EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in GOLIAD, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

July 01, 2014

Engine And Engine Cooling Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Purcell, OK
Model Explorer
System Engine And Engine Cooling
Speed 55

Bad Odor In Vehicle During Acceleration. Smells Like Rotten Eggs. This Is A Brand New Auto. Very Disappointed. Smelled It During Test Drive But Salesman Said That It Was Catalytic Converter And The Smell Would Go Away. It Has Not. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 20 miles. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in PURCELL, OK. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

July 29, 2014

Engine And Engine Cooling Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Terrell, TX
Model Explorer
System Engine And Engine Cooling
Speed 60

When I Let Off The Accelerator, An Exhaust Smell Fills The Cabin. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 17000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8GT7EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in TERRELL, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

July 01, 2014

Engine And Engine Cooling Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Arcadia, CA
Model Explorer
System Engine And Engine Cooling
Speed 70

When Accelerating Or Doing Freeway Speeds The Smell Of Exhaust Circulates Throughout The Car. It Is So Bad That We Have To Roll Down All The Windows. This Has Caused Drowsiness, Headaches And Our Young Granddaughter To Have An Asthma Attack. The Vehicle Has Been Taken To 2 Different Dealerships Numerous Times And They Both Say That There Is Nothing Wrong With The Vehicle And That The Smell Is Not Abnormal. They Claim That The Car Is Not Broken In Yet And That The Catalytic Converter Needs To Burn Off. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 200 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7D86EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in ARCADIA, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 70 mph.

Apr 11, 2014

Engine And Engine Cooling Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Orlando, FL
Model Explorer
System Engine And Engine Cooling
Speed 45

I Rented A Nearly New fordexplorer Limited Awd In Milwaukee, Wi. I Had Been Considering Purchasing This Model So I Was Pleased To Be Able To Drive One For A Few Days. Every Time I Accelerated Hard (wot) The Cabin Would Fill With Exhaust Fumes. This Occurred Even With The Ac In Recirculate Mode And Without Any Other Vehicles Nearby That Would Have Produced The Odor. It Was Strong Enough That We Opened The Windows To Get Fresh Air. After The 2nd Time Of This Occurring, I Did Not Accelerate Hard Again As To Avoid The Problem. I Also Test Drove A Brand New 2014 Ecoboost Awd Model This Weekend And It Did The Same Thing. I Will Not Be Purchasing This Model But Wanted To Add My Experience To The Database As I Feel That ford Needs To Fix This Problem For Owners Of These Vehicles. It Is A Shame, It Was A Nice Vehicle Otherwise. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 12000 miles. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in ORLANDO, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

Aug 15, 2014

Engine And Engine Cooling Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Orlando, FL
Model Explorer
System Engine And Engine Cooling
Speed 45

Test Drove Brand New 2014explorer With 3.5l Ecoboost Turbo engine. Upon Hard Acceleration, The Vehicle Cabin Experiences A Strong Exhaust Smell That Is Irritating To The Eyes And Lungs. I Decided Against Purchasing The Vehicle For This Reason. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 14 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1SE200H12DF. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in ORLANDO, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

Sept 13, 2014

Engine And Engine Cooling Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Houston, TX
Model Explorer
System Engine And Engine Cooling
Speed 70

Exhaust Smell In Vehicle When Accelerating At Speeds Above 70mph. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 5000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8GT9EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in HOUSTON, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. Ford Explorer 2014 drive type:4WD. VEHICLE SPEED: 70 mph.

Sept 08, 2014

Engine And Engine Cooling Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Robbinsville, NC
Model Explorer
System Engine And Engine Cooling
Speed

I Get A Foul Odor In The Cabin On Hard Acceleration. I Took It To The Dealer And They Did A Fix But It Did Not Help.they Say They Don’t Know What To Do, It Smells Like Exhaust Is Entering The Cabin. Help! Make ford Fix This .car Was Purchase New And I Notice The Problem On The Way Home From The Dealer. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8GT5EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in ROBBINSVILLE, NC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. Ford Explorer 2014 drive type:4WD.

Apr 30, 2014

Engine And Engine Cooling Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Sugar Land, TX
Model Explorer
System Engine And Engine Cooling
Speed 60

During Hard Acceleration, A “smell” Enters The Interior Of The Car. The “smell” Is Of Sulfur Or Rotten Eggs. The Smell Is Definitely Coming From The Exhaust. ford Acknowledged The Problem And Performed A Tsb To Fix. The Tsb Did Not Fix The Problem, And The Dealership Says They Have To Wait For An engineer. Service Manager Says There Is Only 1 fordengineer For All Of South Texas. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 200 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8GT0EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in SUGAR LAND, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. Ford Explorer 2014 drive type:4WD. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

Dec 31, 2013

2014 Ford Explorer problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Ford Explorer, driving a 2014 Ford Explorer, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported FordEngine And Engine Cooling problems and defects.

Share Button

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>