2014 Ford Explorer Engine problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 20, 2016.

Rate this post

Ford Explorer Engine problems and reviews: 25.

Are you driving a 2014 Ford Explorer, or planning to buy one? Review reported Engine problems and defects.

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Livingston, NJ
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed 5

I Bought My ford explorer 2014 On July 1st 2013. On August 1st, 2013, My Car Did Not Move Forward While I Started The Car And Put It To ‘d’ (drive) In A Parking Lot. Instead, The Car Went Backwards While I Stepped On Gas. I Was Very Confused, And Thought It Was My Illusion. So I Stepped On Brake And Checked The Drive Panel, The Light For ‘d’ Is On. Then I Switch To ‘p’ And After A Few Seconds Put To ‘d’ Again. However, My Car Still Went Backward And My Rear Bump Hit The Front Bumper Of Another Car Which Park Behind Mine. Then I Got Confirmed That My Car Was Malfunctioning. I Was 100% Sure That The Gear Of My Car Was In ‘d’, Since I Did Not See The Back Up Mirror On From The Lcd Display, And The Indicating Light Of The Gear Was ‘d’. And My Corporate Parking Lot Is Very Flat. After That, I Turned Off My explorer, And Went Out To Check If There Is Damage To The Car That I Hit. Then I Restart My explorer, Put Gear Shift In ‘d’ And It Went Back To Normal. I Could Not Believe It Happened To My New Car Purchased Only About A Month. This Problem Made Me Panic. What If The Problem Happened Again In A Busy Street? What If There Are Pedestrians In The Parking Lot When My Car Was Moving Backward But It Supposes To Go Forward? I Hope Some Authorities Could Help Investigate The Problem, And Alert The Manufacture And Other Owners For Similar Questions. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8D80EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in LIVINGSTON, NJ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

Aug 01, 2013

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Malta, NY
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed 40

Within 24 Hrs. Of Purchase, Driving On Even Road Dry Conditions Approx. 40 Mph Engine Shut Off While In Motion No Hesitation No Bucking Just Shut Off. Pulled Off Side Of Road Restarted Ok Took To Dealer (jack Byrne ford) No Code No Idea What Caused It, Could Not Get To Repeat . This Vehicle Is Primarily Driven On The Highway We Are Deathly Afraid That This Will Happen Again At A Higher Speed And Will Result In A Rear End Collision. Spoke To The Sr. Regional Customer Service Manager For Ny/nj. She States That The Dealer Looked Vehicle Over And Could Not Find Problem Nor Could They Repeat It No Code She Could Not State The Vehicle Is Safe To Drive Just That The Dealer Couldn’t Find Anything And Its Ready To Be Picked Up At Dealership. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 390 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8F86EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in MALTA, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

Nov 05, 2013

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Manteca, CA
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed 25

I Am Pasting From A Parts Of A Post That I Made On 4/2/2014 @ 11:06am At Www.blueovalforums.com With The Topic Being: “major Concern/issue With 2014 ford explorer Sport”: This For The 2014 ford explorer Sport With V6 3.5l Ecoboost (twin Turbo) Motor. About A Month After Owning It, I Was Traveling On The Highway….i Was Traveling About 60mph ….i Signaled To Get Over And Gave It Gas To Speed Up Moderately To About 75mph Or So. When I Pressed On The Gas The Car Basically Almost Stalled On Me…it Wasn’t A Transmission Trying To Think Which Gear To Shift Into Issue, It Was A Straight Choking Of The Gas And Stuttering/hesitating Until I Let Off The Gas 2 Times Or So And Then Press Down On The Gas Again And It Takes Off, But It A Noticeable Lose Of Power.this Has Happened Now 4 Times With This Past Weekend 3/30/2014 Being The Most Recent. However The Highway Speed Was The Only High Speed Incident. The Other 3 Times That It Occurred Were All In Town, On One Of Them I Was Making A Simple U-turn From A Stop And When I Pressed The Gas (not Heavily) To Get Up And Out Of The Turn It Stalled. The Other Time Was Passing To Another Lane And Giving It Some Gas To Speed Up. This Past Sunday I Was Traveling On A 2 Lane Road Then Changes To A 1 Lane Road Approx. 100 Yards After The Stop Lights. I Was Stopped Behind A Vehicle And When We Started Moving The Vehicle In Front Was Only Going About 20-25mph In A 45mph Zone. So I Signaled And Saw A Van In The Lane About 100 Yards Back So I Pressed On The Gas To Get Some Speed To Pass Him Before The Lane Ended And Again Nothing Crazy Just To Get Up To 45-50mph Or So And The Darn Thing Stalled On Me Again! The Big Concern I Have Now Is That The Family And I Are Planning On A Cross-country Road Trip This Summer From May 24-june 10, 2014. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 3400 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8GT8EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in MANTECA, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

Mar 30, 2014

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Delran, NJ
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed 65

It Was Raining Quite Heavily All Day And Was Raining When The Misfire Occurred. The Vehicle Would Buck And Jerk When I Tried To Accelerate. I Had To Pull Over And Restart The Car And Then Finally The Blinking Engine Went Away. The Engine On This Car Is A Twin Turbo 3.5l Ecoboost. *js

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 5600 miles. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in DELRAN, NJ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Apr 30, 2014

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Palacios, TX
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed

Exhaust Gas Is Getting Into The Cabin When The Car Accelerates Over 3200 To 3500 Rpm. ford Says That The Gas Is Not Exhaust Gas, But A Strong Order That Is Not Harmful. They Will Not Tell Us What Chemical The Order Is. When I Drove The Car I Was Experiencing Asthma And Heart Palpitations. The Dealership Found That It Had The 2013 explorer Parts In It And Changed Them Out Per The Tsb 12-12-4. It Still Did Not Help. Another Post Said That They Did Use A Monitor In Their Car And It Was Exhaust. When We Pass A Car Or Farm Machinery Or Enter Onto A Freeway, The Exhaust Smell Is Suffocating When It Enters The Car Cabin. My Fear Is That The Exhaust Could Be Coming Into The Cabin All The Time, But We Can’t Smell It Until It Gets To A Concentrated Level. ford Said That The Engineers Are Working On It. So I Have Purchased A $45,000 Vehicle That I Can’t Drive. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7F87EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in PALACIOS, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS.

Feb 05, 2014

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Tampa, FL
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed 40

Every Time The Suv Is Accelerating Over 3.4k Rpms For A Duration Of Greater Than 3-5 Seconds, The Ac System Fills The Cabin With Nauseating Gas. The Smell Has Changed Over The Course Of Ownership From Burnt Hair Smell, Now To A Exhaust, Rotten Egg/carbon Smell. Occurs With Ac System Off, Or On Independent Of Fresh Air Or Recirculate Mode. Smell Lingers For Minutes Afterwards. Taken To Dealer But Unable To Replicate Problem. Also, They Said That The Tsb For The Issue Did Not Apply To 2014 Models. I Am Very Concerned That Exhaust (co) Is Entering The Vehicle At Hazardous Levels. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 5000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7F83EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in TAMPA, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

June 09, 2014

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Guthrie, OK
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed 70

The Car Repeatedly Fills With Exhaust Fumes Following Higher Rpm’s Just Returned From Colorado Mountains. Climbing Mountains Causes Higher Rpm’s And In The Process Caused The Cabin To Fill With Exhaust Fumes. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 14800 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7F87EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in GUTHRIE, OK. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 70 mph.

June 16, 2014

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Powell, TN
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed 70

Under Hard Acceleration, When Trying To Merge With Interstate Traffic For Example, The Cabin Is Filled With A Smell Of Burning Oil And/or Exhaust. This Has Been Noticeable Since The Vehicle Was Purchased New (picked Up With < 50 Miles On The Odometer) And Has Not Gotten Better After 4900 Miles. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 200 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8F88EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in POWELL, TN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 70 mph.

Mar 01, 2014

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Tijeras, NM
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed 20

My Transmission Would Not Shift Gears. This Is The Fourth Time This Has Happened. As Soon As I Put In Drive The Vehicle Did Run But Would Not Shift…i Was Stuck On A Mountain Road Unable To Pull Over And My Rpm’s Were Pegging Without My Transmission Shifting Into 2nd Gear. I Almost Got Rear Ended. I Was Only Able To Go Like 15 Miles Per Hour, My Car Started Smelling Like It Was Burning And The Engine Was Stressed. When I Was Able To Finally Pull Over I Had To Put The Car In Park Turn It Off, Turn It Back On And Then It Worked Fine. Again This Is The Fourth Time This Has Happened. I Called The ford Dealer, For The Fourth Time And They Said I Could Bring It In But If It Didn’t Act The Same Way With Them There Isn’t Much They Can Do. Not The Answer I Wanted. I Have A Neighbor Who Has The Same Vehicle And It Has Also Happened To Her. There Is Obviously A Systemic Problem Here. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 41000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8D81DG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in TIJERAS, NM. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

July 03, 2014

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Lake In The Hills, IL
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed 65

On A Recent Vacation To The Northwoods Of Wisconsin, Our 2014 explorer Xlt (4×4 V6) Was Releasing A Nauseating Smell Into The Cabin Under Heavy Loads, High Rpms, Or Rapid Accelerations. The Trip Was About 6 Hours Of Solid Driving, And By The 3rd Hour My Wife And I Had Pounding Headaches And Felt Unwell. We Immediately Turned Off The Ac And Opened The Windows As I Was Able To Duplicate The Smell On The Open Highway. We Spent The Remainder Of The Vacation With Limited Ac, Open Windows, And ?cautious? Driving To Ensure The Smell Would Not Occur Again. We Were Traveling With Our 8 Month Old Son And Old English Bulldog At The Time And Wanted To Ensure They Did Not Fall Ill. I Will Be Contacting My ford Dealer To Address The Issue. *js

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 17500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8D81EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in LAKE IN THE HILLS, IL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. Ford Explorer 2014 drive type:4WD. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

July 05, 2014

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Williamsport, PA
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed

My Family Has A 2013 And 2014 ford explorer. Both Of Them Deliver A Noxious Odor Into The Cabin On Medium To Hard Acceleration. This Seems To Be A Common Complaint When I’ve Searched For The Issue On The Internet. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 10 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8D8XEG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in WILLIAMSPORT, PA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS.

June 24, 2014

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Washington, MO
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed

Strong Exhaust Odor On Acceleration. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1700 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8GT3EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in WASHINGTON, MO. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS.

Aug 03, 2014

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Humble, TX
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed 65

Strong Exhaust Odor On Acceleration. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 5000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7B88EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in HUMBLE, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

July 04, 2014

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Fredonia, KS
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed 66

At First The Only Time We Would Notice Exhaust Entering The Cabin Was After Hard Acceleration. Now It Seems That A Lower Speeds Exhaust Is Entering Regardless Of Acceleration Levels On An Intermittent Basis. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 139 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7F88EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in FREDONIA, KS. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. Ford Explorer 2014 drive type:FWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 66 mph.

July 01, 2014

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
San Antonio, TX
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed 30

Exhaust Fumes Are Entering The Vehicle When The Climate Control System Is Operating. These Fumes Are Coming From The Vehicle Itself And Not From Outside Sources. The Fumes Are Worse When The Recirculate Option Is Operating. Highway Speeds And/or Medium Acceleration Produce The Strongest Fumes. Headaches And Nausea Inflicted On Vehicle Occupants. Vehicle Was Serviced By ford, Presented As Repaired And Stated To Have Passed A Test For Exhaust Fumes. Vehicle Still Presents Exhaust Fumes Inside The Vehicle. After Researching This Issue, It Became Apparent That ford And The Nhtsa Have Known Of This Problem: Carbon Monoxide Exposure And Health Issues Should Not Be Regulated To Secondary Status By ford Nor The Nhtsa. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 50 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7D86EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in SAN ANTONIO, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. Ford Explorer 2014 drive type:FWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

July 07, 2014

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Davis, CA
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed 80

After Purchasing A New 2014 ford explorer Limited. 3.5l 4wd Less Than 2 Hours Prior, My Wife And 2 Children Were Driving Home Down The Freeway. After A Hard Acceleration An Awful Smell Filled The Cabin. My Wife Started Coughing And I Instantly Felt Nauseous. I Pulled Over Thinking Something Was Burning, My Wife Thought It Was Burning Wires. I Checked Of The Vehicle But Found Nothing Burning. I Did However Walk To The Rear Of The Vehicle And Was Overpowered By The Same Smell. I Narrowed In Down To The Exhaust Pipe. After Getting Home I Did A Quick Google Search And Was Shocked To Find Many Other People Have Had This Problem And There Is Even A Lawsuit Filed Against ford Over It. The Dealer Must Have Known About It… I Want To Return This Vehicle , ford Has To Have Known About This Or Should Have. They Put My Children At Risk And I Am Not Happy. I Have Owned This Vehicle For Less Than 3 Hours At The Time Of This Writing. What Can I Do? *tr

2 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 302 miles. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in DAVIS, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 80 mph.

Sept 07, 2014

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Tulsa, OK
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed 60

Upon Heavy Acceleration (to Enter The Freeway, For Example) A Strong Odor Of Exhaust Fumes Enters The Cabin. It Is Necessary To Open A Window In Order To Breath Again! This Occurs Every Time Upon Entering The Freeway, And If/when Passing Another Vehicle On The Highway. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 2500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7F81EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in TULSA, OK. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. Ford Explorer 2014 drive type:FWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

Jan 08, 2014

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Richardson, TX
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed 60

While Driving On The Freeway I Needed To Accelerate To Pass A Vehicle And When I Did A Exhaust Smell Entered The Cab It Took About 5-10 Seconds After Accelerating Over 3500 Rpms. I Have Tested This Again And Again And It Happens Every Time Under These Conditions. Sitting Still There Is No Effect At All. Five Star ford Of Plano Texas Has Tried A “tsb” That Was Issued To Install A Vent Adjustment. They Also Changed Out The Cabin Filter. Still No Luck. Thank You *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 14550 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7B8XEG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in RICHARDSON, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. Ford Explorer 2014 drive type:4WD. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

Aug 30, 2014

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Austin, TX
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed 45

Since I’ve Owned My 2014 ford explorer For The Past Six Months I Get Sulfur Smelling Exhaust Fumes Coming From The A/c Vents When Quickly Accelerating Even If The A/c Is In Recirc Mode And Even When The Fuel Tank Is Not Full. It Is Definitely Exhaust Odors And Not Fuel Odors. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7D88EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in AUSTIN, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. Ford Explorer 2014 drive type:FWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

Apr 07, 2014

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Hialeah, FL
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed 55

When Accelerating To Pass A Dangerous Truck (58 Mph) Strong Fumes Comes Inside The Cabin, Acceleration Took 8 Seconds, Instantly We Start Coughing And Get Watery Eyes, Our Year Old Baby Start Crying Showing Symptoms Of Distress, We Tell This To Sales Person, Which Quickly Told Us The Story That This Happens With New Cars.. Supposedly New Engines Should Not Be Highly Accelerated. Naively We Believe This And Decide To Give It A Few Days

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>