2014 Ford Explorer Exterior Lighting problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 20, 2016.

Rate this post

Ford Explorer Exterior Lighting problems and reviews: 9.

Are you driving a 2014 Ford Explorer, or planning to buy one? Review reported Exterior Lighting problems and defects.

Exterior Lighting Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Delta, OH
Model Explorer
System Exterior Lighting
Speed 10

Purchased 2014 ford explorer July 20, 2014 – July 26,2014 – I Was Pulling Away From Drive Thru Pharmacy And My Dash Lights Went Black. Took My Vehicle Into Service The Next Morning – They Could Not Find Anything Wrong. My Vehicle Has Been Back 6 More Times. Once Again For Loosing All Dash Lights Driving Down The Road – Since Then, My Lighting In My Vehicle Does Not Light Up As It Use To. Sometimes My Dash Lights Come On When Opening The Driver Door, Sometimes They Do Not – Sometimes My Lcd Screen Will Light Up, Sometimes It Does Not. The Dealership Has Replaced The Instrument Cluster Once, But I Feel There Is Still An Issue. It All My Dash Lights Lit Up For The First 6 Days Of Owning The Vehicle, Why Would They Not All Light Up Now After The Incident Of Losing The Dash Lights??? I Have Asked For A Replacement Vehicle – As After Speaking With An Attorney I Have A Lemon Law Claim, A Safety Claim, And A Warranty Claim. If My Vehicle Does Not Get Replaced Or Some Money Back From ford – As I Have Drove My Car For 13 Full Days Out Of A Month – I Will Be Taking This To Court As I Can Only See Further Issues Down The Road. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 653 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8D89EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in DELTA, OH. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

July 20, 2013

Exterior Lighting Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Ann Arbor, MI
Model Explorer
System Exterior Lighting
Speed 30

When Driving On Rural Unlit Roads, The Headlights At Times Light Up Less Than 3 Vehicle Lengths And Or Blind Oncoming Drivers When Using Low Beams. The Issue Appears To Be Associated With The Recent Headlight Design Which Uses A “projector Style” Lens Incorporating A “high Beam” Bulb And A Shutter To Create The Low Beam By Cutting Off The Top Portion Of The Beam. There Is “no” Light Above The Cut-off Line So When Driving Down An Undulation And/ Or During Braking, The Light Beam Aims Down Relative To The Road. When Going Up An Undulation, The Beam Cut-off Moves Up And Shines The Uncut-off Beam Into The Eyes Of Oncoming Drivers. Additionally, The Headlights Have No Light Onto The Shoulder Above Headlight Height So Roadside Traffic Control Signs And Pedestrians Are Not Illuminated. Situation Has Been Observed By Dealership Salesman And Technician Who Expressed Disbelief. Dealership Management And Manufacturer Customer Assistance Center Have Advised Condition Is “normal And Acceptable” Even Though They Have Not Observed The Condition And Have Refused To Do So. No Service Actions Are To Be Performed Per The Technical Hotline. Other Conditions Presented By This Design Are Also Present Creating Additional Lesser Issues. Condition Is Ongoing Since First Being Observed On First Night Drive. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 152 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8D88EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in ANN ARBOR, MI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

Oct 12, 2013

Exterior Lighting Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Crossville, TN
Model Explorer
System Exterior Lighting
Speed 55

Head Lights Are Not Focusing Correctly. When U Go Around Curve, Lights Show Ahead Half Way, But It Is Pure Black Around Curve. We Live In The Mts. With Lots Of Hills And Mts. It Is Scary!! You Could Kill A Child Or Animal Without Seeing Them In The Pitch Black. Also, U Cannot See Signs On The Side Of Road Unless U Put Your Bright Lights On, Which Really Tees Off Car In Front. We Just Bought The ford explorer In Dec.. Have Taken It To Two Dealers,. The One We Bought It From Did Raise The Lights, But Said Nothing Else Can Be Done. I Believe Before ford Will Have A Recall, Someone Will Be Killed! Praying It Won’t Be Us. Please Help Us Find Someone That Can Help. Engineers Should Know About This Scary Problem! Thanks! [xxx] Information Redacted Pursuant To The Freedom Of Information Act (foia), 5 U.s.c. 552(b)(6). *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1000 miles. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in CROSSVILLE, TN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

Jan 20, 2014

Exterior Lighting Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Hazlet, NJ
Model Explorer
System Exterior Lighting
Speed 0

While Vehicle Was In The Shop For Preventive Maintenance, The Technician Noticed That The Left Taillight Assembly Was About A Third Full Of Water. The Light Assembly Was Removed From The Vehicle And Was Rotated In Various Directions In An Attempt To Find Where The Water Had Entered The Light. What We Found Was A Poorly Welded Plastic Seam At The Top Edge Of The Light Assembly. We Approached ford With The Issue And Were Informed That Because Emergency Lighting Had Been Added, They Would Not Warranty The Light Even Though The Emergency Light Was Not The Source Of The Leak. This Vehicle Is Operated By A Police Department. We Have Had Another Failure (upper Seam Leak) On Another Police Unit,same Year, That Resulted In The Lose Of Function Of The Left Taillight Assembly Due To The Led Lighting Module Shorting Out After The Light Had Filled Halfway With Water. We Feel This Could Be A Safety Issue Due The Potential For Reduced Visible Stoplights And Taillights On The Rear Of The Vehicle.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 34000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8AR6EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in HAZLET, NJ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Oct 21, 2014

Exterior Lighting Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Bethpage, NY
Model Explorer
System Exterior Lighting
Speed 15

The Headlights On My 2014 ford explorer Sport Do Not Safely Light Up The Road At Night On A Road With No Street Lights. The Low Beams Project A Black Line From Left To Right Approximately 6 Inches Above The Dashboard. There Is Also No Light On Either Side Of The Vehicle When Making A Right Or Left Turn. Last Week I Almost Ran Into A Ditch Because I Did Not Have Enough Light To See The Road. I Spoke To My ford Dealer And They Responded They Know Of The Problem But ford Has Not Sent Out A Maintenance Bulletin Or A Recall. I Called ford Customer Service And They Responded They Would Make Note Of This Issue And Would Use It To Enhance Next Years Model. I Responded That They Need To Fix This Years Model. The Headlights This Year (2014) Are New. They Use A Projector System Which Is Not Working. I Believe This Is A Major Safety Concern And A Recall Should Be Issued To Convert The New Lights Back To The Old Style Lights. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1800 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8GT3EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in BETHPAGE, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 15 mph.

Nov 03, 2014

Exterior Lighting Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Bethany, LA
Model Explorer
System Exterior Lighting
Speed

Headlights Don’t Illuminate Far Enough In Front Of Vehicle And Aim Down Into The Road. When Making A Turn The Headlights Do Not Reflect To The Edges Of The Road Limiting Your Vision. We Have To Stop When Making A Turn To Point The Headlights In The Direction We Want To Go Because There Is No Side Vision. These Headlights Are Not Safe To Drive With At Night. It’s Like Driving With Two Flashlights For Headlights! This Has Limited Our Driving At Night. We Have Been To The Dealership To Try To Resolve This And Since Found Out That There Have Been Numerous Complaints For The Past Two Years! Will You Please Contact Me And Let Me Know How ford Plans To Resolve This Safety Hazard.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7085EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in BETHANY, LA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Apr 04, 2014

Exterior Lighting Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Mountain Home, AR
Model Explorer
System Exterior Lighting
Speed 55

This Vehicle Is Not Safe To Drive At Night. With Low Beams On The Distance The Road Is Illuminated Varies Drastically, At Times The Illumination Is Only A Few Feet With Not Side Illumination At All. Even In The Best Of Conditions The Illumination Is Insufficient To Make Driving At Night Safe. Also There Is A Distracting Dark Curtain Moving Up And Down The Windshield As You Go Up And Down Hills. Traveling Hilly Roads Is Where The Condition Is At Its Worst. This Phenomena Has Been Verified By The ford Dealership I Purchased The Vehicle From, But There Seems To Be No Solution The The Issue. This Vehicle Needs To Be Recalled, I Do Not Drive The Vehicle At Night, Too Dangerous.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 3000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8B83EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in MOUNTAIN HOME, AR. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

May 14, 2014

Exterior Lighting Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Pikesville, MD
Model Explorer
System Exterior Lighting
Speed

Cpsc:i1540378a. 2014 ford explorer. Consumer Stated The Head Lights On The Vehicle Are Unsafe To Operate At Night. *ln

Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in PIKESVILLE, MD. Vehicle was purchased on 20130717. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. DEALER’S NAME: APPLE Ford . DEALER’S CITY: COLUMBIA . DEALER’S STATE CODE: MD.

Apr 23, 2015

Exterior Lighting Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Fairfax, VA
Model Explorer
System Exterior Lighting
Speed 30

The First Time I Took My New Vehicle Out At Night I Struggled Seeing The Road Even With The Fog Lights On. When You Look Out Over The Hood There Is A Black Line At Hood Height And The Light Appears Above The Black Line. So There Is Not Much Light Hitting The Road. When Making A Turn The Headlights Do Not Follow The Road On The Turn As They Appear Off In The Distance And Not Down On The Road. You Virtually Cannot See In Rural Areas When Making A Turn. Even High Beams Do Not Illuminate The Road Very Well. This Is A Serious Problem That Needs To Be Addressed Before Someone Has An Accident And Kills Themselves.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 15 miles. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in FAIRFAX, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

June 11, 2015

2014 Ford Explorer problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Ford Explorer, driving a 2014 Ford Explorer, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported FordExterior Lighting problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>