2014 Ford Explorer Fuel, Propulsion System problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 20, 2016.

Rate this post

Ford Explorer Fuel, Propulsion System problems and reviews: 16.

Are you driving a 2014 Ford Explorer, or planning to buy one? Review reported Fuel, Propulsion System problems and defects.

Fuel, Propulsion System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Fraser, MI
Model Explorer
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 0

For A Little Over A Month My Wife And I Have Been Smelling Gasoline Periodically Around The Car. The Last Time I Filled Up I Remember Checking For A Leak Because The Smell Was So Strong. That Same Night I Was Working Around The Vehicle And Heard A Sound Coming From Under The Car. It Was A Significant Amount Of Gasoline Draining On Top Of The Engine Exhaust Pipes And My Driveway. It Looked Like The Gas Tank Was Leaking From A Plastic Fitting, Periodically Releasing About A Cup Full Of Gasoline. We Have Since Taken The Car Into The Dealership And They Have Identified The Issue As An Overflow Component That Is Defective. I Wanted To Write An Incident Report With Nhtsa Because This Is An Extremely Dangerous Situation That I Was Lucky To Catch. The Car Is My Pregnant Wife’s Daily Driver Along With My Daughter As A Passenger, So It Really Freaked Me Out To Realize What Could Have Happened! I Am Concerned That This Situation May Occur With Other 2014 explorers And Their Owners Not Realizing The Leak Before A Catistrophic Event Happens. The Gas Leak Could Easily Go Unnoticed, As We Did Not Realize The Leak Until A Month After The First Warning Signs (gaseline Smell). After Some Research I Found That The 2013 explorers Had A Recall On The Fuel Pumps, Which Could Be Related To This Issue. *tt

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 2000 miles. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in FRASER, MI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Apr 13, 2014

Fuel, Propulsion System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Delran, NJ
Model Explorer
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 65

It Was Raining Quite Heavily All Day And Was Raining When The Misfire Occurred. The Vehicle Would Buck And Jerk When I Tried To Accelerate. I Had To Pull Over And Restart The Car And Then Finally The Blinking Engine Went Away. The Engine On This Car Is A Twin Turbo 3.5l Ecoboost. *js

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 5600 miles. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in DELRAN, NJ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Apr 30, 2014

Fuel, Propulsion System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Lake In The Hills, IL
Model Explorer
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 65

On A Recent Vacation To The Northwoods Of Wisconsin, Our 2014 explorer Xlt (4×4 V6) Was Releasing A Nauseating Smell Into The Cabin Under Heavy Loads, High Rpms, Or Rapid Accelerations. The Trip Was About 6 Hours Of Solid Driving, And By The 3rd Hour My Wife And I Had Pounding Headaches And Felt Unwell. We Immediately Turned Off The Ac And Opened The Windows As I Was Able To Duplicate The Smell On The Open Highway. We Spent The Remainder Of The Vacation With Limited Ac, Open Windows, And ?cautious? Driving To Ensure The Smell Would Not Occur Again. We Were Traveling With Our 8 Month Old Son And Old English Bulldog At The Time And Wanted To Ensure They Did Not Fall Ill. I Will Be Contacting My ford Dealer To Address The Issue. *js

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 17500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8D81EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in LAKE IN THE HILLS, IL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. Ford Explorer 2014 drive type:4WD. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

July 05, 2014

Fuel, Propulsion System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Show Low, AZ
Model Explorer
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed

My 2014 ford explorer Lets In An Extreme Amount Of Fumes Into The Cabin Of The Vehicle During Heavy Exceleration. I Have To Put All Four Windows Down For A Good Amount Of Time Before I Am Able To Clear The Cabin Of The Fumes. My First Complaint At The Local ford Dealer Happened 6 Weeks After Leasing The Vehicle. I Have Had The Vehicle For 10 Mos. Now And Have Only 5500 Miles On It Because The Fumes Are So Bad That We Don’t Dare Drive Our Pets In The Vehicle Or Ourselves Because We Get Sick And Suffer From Headaches And Nausea From The Fumes In It. Unfortunately We Are Trapped In A Lease And The ford Dealership Will Only Do A Trade In Value On It. So I Cant Even Sell The Vehicle For What Its Worth Because Of The Lease. Can’t Afford That Kind Of Loss Because I Traded In My Toyota 4 Runner In To Get The Monthly Lease Payment Down. Won’t Get That 8 Grand Back On Trade In. Heart Breaking Because This Is My Dream Truck, But It Is Obviously Very Defective. *js

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7B82EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in SHOW LOW, AZ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. Ford Explorer 2014 drive type:FWD.

Nov 15, 2013

Fuel, Propulsion System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Gulfport, MS
Model Explorer
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 50

Upon Acceleration The Cabin Smelled Of Exhaust Fumes, It Happens Almost Everyday And Causes Light Headedness When Driving. When Getting Up To Speed On The Highway The Cabin Fills With Exhaust. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 2700 miles. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in GULFPORT, MS. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 50 mph.

Sept 07, 2014

Fuel, Propulsion System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Brooklyn, NY
Model Explorer
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 45

While Driving My 2014 explorer Sport I Encountered A Few Problems With This Truck, When I Step On The Gas To Enter On To The Freeway It Got Confused And Did Not No What To Do . Seems Like It Wanted To Stall And Then Speed Up Violently. When I Finally Got Up To Speed It Smelled Like It Farted, Also My Radio Volume Shuts Off , I Have To Stop The Car And Turn It Off , Then Start It And The Volume Comes Back On. Bring Back The V8 Please. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 5550 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8GT6EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in BROOKLYN, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. Ford Explorer 2014 drive type:4WD. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

May 30, 2014

Fuel, Propulsion System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Robbinsville, NC
Model Explorer
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed

I Get A Foul Odor In The Cabin On Hard Acceleration. I Took It To The Dealer And They Did A Fix But It Did Not Help.they Say They Don’t Know What To Do, It Smells Like Exhaust Is Entering The Cabin. Help! Make ford Fix This .car Was Purchase New And I Notice The Problem On The Way Home From The Dealer. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8GT5EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in ROBBINSVILLE, NC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. Ford Explorer 2014 drive type:4WD.

Apr 30, 2014

Fuel, Propulsion System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Mechanicsville, VA
Model Explorer
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed

Soon After Buying My 14 ford explorer I Noticed A Strong Exhaust Smell In The Cabin. I Figured It Was From Vehicles In Front Of Me So Ran Recirculate, Still Smelled In Some Cases Overwhelming Exhaust Fumes Causing A Burning Sensation To My Eyes, Headaches, Sometimes Severe And Nausea. This Vehicle Is My Office As Well As My Transportation Since I Cover The Mid Atlantic For My Job. I Have Been Hospitalized A Handful Of Times For Debilitating Headaches And Nausea. I Travel 25k Road Miles Plus Air Travel Per Year For My Career And Often Am In The Vehicle For 3 Plus Hours. The Issue Has Been Replicated At 2 Dealerships. One Service Director Said The Miles I Drive, The Amount Of Fumes He, His Service Manager And Master Tech Experienced In A Short 15 Minute Test Drive, That I Should Not Be Driving This Vehicle And It Is Likely Responsible For My Debilitating Headaches And Need For Hospital Visits Reminding Me Carbon Monoxide Can Cause Unconsciousness And Worse. A Gm Of A ford Dealership Told Me The Repairs Listed In The Tsb Are A Bandaid And Not Successful Most Of The Time. If It Was Fixed By Replacing The Ventilation Why Must They Still Undercoat The Vehicle? Because They Need To Seal Underneath To Prevent The Fumes That Still Exist From Entering Cabin. I Understand How Carbon Monoxide Has Caused My Serious Headaches, Nausea And I Could Quickly And Unknowingly Go From The State Of A Headache To Unconsciousness. That Is Unacceptable As I Could Kill Others And Myself. I Currently Do Not Drive This Automobile Yet Continue To Make Monthly Payments To Pay For This Potential Death Trap !!! It Is Shocking After Learning Of All The Complaints That Your Agency (the National Highway Transportation Safety Administration) Has Not Done More And That ford Has Not Done Anything Other Than Repairs Outlined In A Tsb That Do Not Resolve A Severe Life Threatening Potential Deadly Issue. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 6100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8F83EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in MECHANICSVILLE, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. Ford Explorer 2014 drive type:FWD.

May 01, 2014

Fuel, Propulsion System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Austin, TX
Model Explorer
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 45

Since I’ve Owned My 2014 ford explorer For The Past Six Months I Get Sulfur Smelling Exhaust Fumes Coming From The A/c Vents When Quickly Accelerating Even If The A/c Is In Recirc Mode And Even When The Fuel Tank Is Not Full. It Is Definitely Exhaust Odors And Not Fuel Odors. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7D88EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in AUSTIN, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. Ford Explorer 2014 drive type:FWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

Apr 07, 2014

Fuel, Propulsion System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Hialeah, FL
Model Explorer
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 55

When Accelerating To Pass A Dangerous Truck (58 Mph) Strong Fumes Comes Inside The Cabin, Acceleration Took 8 Seconds, Instantly We Start Coughing And Get Watery Eyes, Our Year Old Baby Start Crying Showing Symptoms Of Distress, We Tell This To Sales Person, Which Quickly Told Us The Story That This Happens With New Cars.. Supposedly New Engines Should Not Be Highly Accelerated. Naively We Believe This And Decide To Give It A Few Days

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>