2014 Ford Explorer Power Train problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 20, 2016.

Rate this post

Ford Explorer Power Train problems and reviews: 7.

Are you driving a 2014 Ford Explorer, or planning to buy one? Review reported Power Train problems and defects.

Power Train Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Livingston, NJ
Model Explorer
System Power Train
Speed 5

I Bought My ford explorer 2014 On July 1st 2013. On August 1st, 2013, My Car Did Not Move Forward While I Started The Car And Put It To ‘d’ (drive) In A Parking Lot. Instead, The Car Went Backwards While I Stepped On Gas. I Was Very Confused, And Thought It Was My Illusion. So I Stepped On Brake And Checked The Drive Panel, The Light For ‘d’ Is On. Then I Switch To ‘p’ And After A Few Seconds Put To ‘d’ Again. However, My Car Still Went Backward And My Rear Bump Hit The Front Bumper Of Another Car Which Park Behind Mine. Then I Got Confirmed That My Car Was Malfunctioning. I Was 100% Sure That The Gear Of My Car Was In ‘d’, Since I Did Not See The Back Up Mirror On From The Lcd Display, And The Indicating Light Of The Gear Was ‘d’. And My Corporate Parking Lot Is Very Flat. After That, I Turned Off My explorer, And Went Out To Check If There Is Damage To The Car That I Hit. Then I Restart My explorer, Put Gear Shift In ‘d’ And It Went Back To Normal. I Could Not Believe It Happened To My New Car Purchased Only About A Month. This Problem Made Me Panic. What If The Problem Happened Again In A Busy Street? What If There Are Pedestrians In The Parking Lot When My Car Was Moving Backward But It Supposes To Go Forward? I Hope Some Authorities Could Help Investigate The Problem, And Alert The Manufacture And Other Owners For Similar Questions. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8D80EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in LIVINGSTON, NJ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

Aug 01, 2013

Power Train Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Malta, NY
Model Explorer
System Power Train
Speed 40

Within 24 Hrs. Of Purchase, Driving On Even Road Dry Conditions Approx. 40 Mph Engine Shut Off While In Motion No Hesitation No Bucking Just Shut Off. Pulled Off Side Of Road Restarted Ok Took To Dealer (jack Byrne ford) No Code No Idea What Caused It, Could Not Get To Repeat . This Vehicle Is Primarily Driven On The Highway We Are Deathly Afraid That This Will Happen Again At A Higher Speed And Will Result In A Rear End Collision. Spoke To The Sr. Regional Customer Service Manager For Ny/nj. She States That The Dealer Looked Vehicle Over And Could Not Find Problem Nor Could They Repeat It No Code She Could Not State The Vehicle Is Safe To Drive Just That The Dealer Couldn’t Find Anything And Its Ready To Be Picked Up At Dealership. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 390 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8F86EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in MALTA, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

Nov 05, 2013

Power Train Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Manteca, CA
Model Explorer
System Power Train
Speed 25

I Am Pasting From A Parts Of A Post That I Made On 4/2/2014 @ 11:06am At Www.blueovalforums.com With The Topic Being: “major Concern/issue With 2014 ford explorer Sport”: This For The 2014 ford explorer Sport With V6 3.5l Ecoboost (twin Turbo) Motor. About A Month After Owning It, I Was Traveling On The Highway….i Was Traveling About 60mph ….i Signaled To Get Over And Gave It Gas To Speed Up Moderately To About 75mph Or So. When I Pressed On The Gas The Car Basically Almost Stalled On Me…it Wasn’t A Transmission Trying To Think Which Gear To Shift Into Issue, It Was A Straight Choking Of The Gas And Stuttering/hesitating Until I Let Off The Gas 2 Times Or So And Then Press Down On The Gas Again And It Takes Off, But It A Noticeable Lose Of power.this Has Happened Now 4 Times With This Past Weekend 3/30/2014 Being The Most Recent. However The Highway Speed Was The Only High Speed Incident. The Other 3 Times That It Occurred Were All In Town, On One Of Them I Was Making A Simple U-turn From A Stop And When I Pressed The Gas (not Heavily) To Get Up And Out Of The Turn It Stalled. The Other Time Was Passing To Another Lane And Giving It Some Gas To Speed Up. This Past Sunday I Was Traveling On A 2 Lane Road Then Changes To A 1 Lane Road Approx. 100 Yards After The Stop Lights. I Was Stopped Behind A Vehicle And When We Started Moving The Vehicle In Front Was Only Going About 20-25mph In A 45mph Zone. So I Signaled And Saw A Van In The Lane About 100 Yards Back So I Pressed On The Gas To Get Some Speed To Pass Him Before The Lane Ended And Again Nothing Crazy Just To Get Up To 45-50mph Or So And The Darn Thing Stalled On Me Again! The Big Concern I Have Now Is That The Family And I Are Planning On A Cross-country Road Trip This Summer From May 24-june 10, 2014. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 3400 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8GT8EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in MANTECA, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

Mar 30, 2014

Power Train Ford 2014
Ford
Location
South Ozone Park, NY
Model Explorer
System Power Train
Speed 40

The Contact Owns A 2014 ford explorer. The Contact Stated That While Driving Approximately 40 Mph, The Vehicle Jerked. The Failure Occurred On Multiple Occasions. The Vehicle Was Taken To The Dealer. The Contact Was Unaware Of The Repairs Made To The Vehicle. The Manufacturer Was Not Notified Of The Failure. The Approximate Failure Mileage Was 1,600.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1600 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8D87EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in SOUTH OZONE PARK, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

June 03, 2014

Power Train Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Tijeras, NM
Model Explorer
System Power Train
Speed 20

My Transmission Would Not Shift Gears. This Is The Fourth Time This Has Happened. As Soon As I Put In Drive The Vehicle Did Run But Would Not Shift…i Was Stuck On A Mountain Road Unable To Pull Over And My Rpm’s Were Pegging Without My Transmission Shifting Into 2nd Gear. I Almost Got Rear Ended. I Was Only Able To Go Like 15 Miles Per Hour, My Car Started Smelling Like It Was Burning And The Engine Was Stressed. When I Was Able To Finally Pull Over I Had To Put The Car In Park Turn It Off, Turn It Back On And Then It Worked Fine. Again This Is The Fourth Time This Has Happened. I Called The ford Dealer, For The Fourth Time And They Said I Could Bring It In But If It Didn’t Act The Same Way With Them There Isn’t Much They Can Do. Not The Answer I Wanted. I Have A Neighbor Who Has The Same Vehicle And It Has Also Happened To Her. There Is Obviously A Systemic Problem Here. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 41000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8D81DG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in TIJERAS, NM. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

July 03, 2014

Power Train Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Lake In The Hills, IL
Model Explorer
System Power Train
Speed 65

On A Recent Vacation To The Northwoods Of Wisconsin, Our 2014 explorer Xlt (4×4 V6) Was Releasing A Nauseating Smell Into The Cabin Under Heavy Loads, High Rpms, Or Rapid Accelerations. The Trip Was About 6 Hours Of Solid Driving, And By The 3rd Hour My Wife And I Had Pounding Headaches And Felt Unwell. We Immediately Turned Off The Ac And Opened The Windows As I Was Able To Duplicate The Smell On The Open Highway. We Spent The Remainder Of The Vacation With Limited Ac, Open Windows, And ?cautious? Driving To Ensure The Smell Would Not Occur Again. We Were Traveling With Our 8 Month Old Son And Old English Bulldog At The Time And Wanted To Ensure They Did Not Fall Ill. I Will Be Contacting My ford Dealer To Address The Issue. *js

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 17500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8D81EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in LAKE IN THE HILLS, IL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. Ford Explorer 2014 drive type:4WD. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

July 05, 2014

Power Train Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Denver, CO
Model Explorer
System Power Train
Speed 10

When I Accelerate Immediately After Turning On Engine Between 10-20 Mph My Car Will Slip Out Of Drive Into Manual. This Happens Randomly, And Has Happened For The 2 Other Drivers Of This Vehicle. I Have To Stop, Move Gear Shift To Either Neutral Or Manual And Switch Back To Drive, For The Transmission To Then Remain In Drive. It Has Happened At Least 25 Times-my Vehicle Now Has 16,000 Miles On It. I Took Into ford Dealership And After 2 Days They Could “not Simulate” What Was Causing It And Told Me To “take A Picture Of The Display Screen” When It Happens Again So It Could Be Simulated. They Told Me I Was Hitting The Controls On The Steering Wheel! I Am Not Hitting The Controls On The Steering Wheel They Made A Vehicle With Faulty power Train And The Computer Can’t Tell Them How To Fix It! I Was Able To Quickly Snap One Picture And Will Try To Get Another One Prior To Taking Into Dealership Again. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 6000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8GT3EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in DENVER, CO. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Dec 02, 2013

2014 Ford Explorer problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Ford Explorer, driving a 2014 Ford Explorer, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported FordPower Train problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>