2014 Ford Explorer Unknown Or Other problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 20, 2016.

Rate this post

Ford Explorer Unknown Or Other problems and reviews: 17.

Are you driving a 2014 Ford Explorer, or planning to buy one? Review reported Unknown Or Other problems and defects.

Unknown Or Other Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Gilbert, WV
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 10

When Driving My 2014 ford explorer At Any Speed And On Any Terrain, The Exhaust Fumes Enter Into The Cabin Of The Vehicle. The Odor Is Extreme, Causes Headaches, Nausea, And Tends To Burn My Eyes As Well As My Granddaughter, Who Is With Me Most Of The Time. Because There Have Not Been Enough People Complain Of This Problem, And Because ford Has Not Recognized That There Is A Problem, My Dealer Was Not Going To Attempt To Fix The Problem. Finally They Have Agreed To Spray The Under Part Of The Exhaust With A Rubberized Sealant That Was Used On The 2013 Models For The Same Problem. If This Does Not Work, Which I Have Read Was Not Successful On The 2013 , I Don’t Know What To Do. The Exhaust Order Is Horrid And I Fear The Health Implications That May Arise. *js

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8B88EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in GILBERT, WV. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Oct 15, 2013

Unknown Or Other Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Tulsa, OK
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 60

Upon Heavy Acceleration (to Enter The Freeway, For Example) A Strong Odor Of Exhaust Fumes Enters The Cabin. It Is Necessary To Open A Window In Order To Breath Again! This Occurs Every Time Upon Entering The Freeway, And If/when Passing Another Vehicle On The Highway. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 2500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7F81EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in TULSA, OK. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. Ford Explorer 2014 drive type:FWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

Jan 08, 2014

Unknown Or Other Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Magnolia, TX
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 60

I Have Experienced A Burning Smell Entering The Cabin Area When Accelerating To Pass A Vehicle And When Climbing A Hill. Also Have Had A “sour” Smell Like Soured Clothing From Ac When I Start My Vehicle. I Did Ask A Service Manager About The “sour” Smell And He Said He Never Heard Of It, Not A Big Help.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7F85EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in MAGNOLIA, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

Oct 19, 2013

Unknown Or Other Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Hartford, TN
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 60

My 2014 ford explorer Was Purchased Off The Show Room Floor With No Test Drive. My Normal Daily Drive Consist Of 2 Lane Side Roads. On The Weekend My Family And I Will Take The Interstate Routes. In Early March As We Began Our Trip And I Accelerated Onto The Interstate There Was A Very Heavy Exhaust Odor. The Odor Was Thick Enough That We Had To Lower Each Of Our Windows. We Thought It Was Strange But Perhaps Just A One Time Occurrence But That Wasn’t The Case. The Problem Is Occurring During Heavy Acceleration Only, With No Air, With The Air Conditioning Or With The Heat On. I Have Taken My Vehicle To ford 3 Times Since August 2014 For A Total Of 26 Days In The Shop In Hopes Of Getting This Repaired With No Luck. I Did Have A Case Open With ford Case# 5266584 And Was Told Last Week (11/13/14) By Customer Service Person “chris” That My Case Had Been Closed, Reason; “the Odor I Am Experiencing Is Normal” I Was Not Notified By ford That The Case Was Being Closed Nor Was The Dealer Where I Purchased The Vehicle. I Placed A Carbon Monoxide Detector In My Vehicle And After 3 To 4 Days On 11/01/14 Received A Warning To Move To Clean Air! My Vehicle Is Under Full Warranty However That Is Useless At This Point. On 11/15/14 I Had To Take A 6 Hour Round Trip With My Mother, Step Father And Mother-in-law We Had To Lower With Window No Less Than 8 Times During The Travel And My Mother Had A Very Sick Headache After The Trip. This Problem Is Real And I Hope You Will Give It The Time And Attention Needed To Make Sure Other People Like Myself Aren’t Just Brushed Off By ford. ford Has My Money Paid In Full For A Vehicle I Am Forced To Drive Daily Because I Have No Other Transportation. And You Ask Do I Also Have Headaches Yes And They Are Very Real.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 456 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8F87EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in HARTFord, TN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

Mar 01, 2014

Unknown Or Other Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Fairview, TX
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 65

About 20-30 Seconds After Hard Acceleration The Cabin Fills Up With The Sulfur Smell From The Catalytic Converter. Have Had It Back To The Dealer To Perform The Tsb But Now It Seems To Be Even Worse. They Have Told Me That The Factory Will Contact Me When They Find A Solution To The Problem However No-one Ever Has. I Cannot Safely Drive The Car Like This. The Stench Is Overpowering.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 850 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7F88EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in FAIRVIEW, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

June 23, 2014

Unknown Or Other Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Denton, TX
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 40

Upon Hard Acceleration My 2014 ford explorer Has Exhaust Fumes Enter Into The Vehicle. I Tested With Both The Ac On Recirc And Recirc Off And It Happens Either Way. I Have Already Had The Vehicle In The ford Shop With This Problem And A Tsb Was Performed With No Improvements.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 300 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7F87EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in DENTON, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

May 01, 2014

Unknown Or Other Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Fredonia, KS
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 65

Upon Acceleration Exhaust Enters The Vehicle Cabin. Sometimes Exhaust Enters The Vehicle Cabin Without Acceleration. I Thought I Had Reported This Before.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 200 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7F88EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in FREDONIA, KS. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

July 01, 2014

Unknown Or Other Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Fredonia, KS
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 65

Upon Acceleration Exhaust Enters The Vehicle Cabin. Sometimes Exhaust Enters The Vehicle Cabin Without Acceleration. I Thought I Had Reported This Before.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 200 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7F88EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in FREDONIA, KS. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

July 01, 2014

Unknown Or Other Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Amarillo, TX
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed

The Exhaust Seems To Be Entering The Cabin Through The Ac Vents. We Took This Back To ford As We Bought It New And They Stated At First It Was Just Stickers Burning Off. Then I Took It Back Again And Made A Manager To Ride With Me. He Stated It Was Not Normal And We Left It There. They Stated They Replaced Some Parts A Rerouted Something. Seemed To Be Very Confused On What They Did. The Smell Never Really Went Away And Not That It Has 20,000 Miles Seems To Be Gettoing Worst. My Wife Is Pregnant Now And Its Her Daily Driver. I Would Just Take It Back And Trade It In But I Will Lose So Much In Trade!! I Just Think This Is Very Dangerous And I Am Worried For My Wife And Future Baby.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1200 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8D83EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in AMARILLO, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Oct 01, 2013

Unknown Or Other Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Clemmons, NC
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 60

Recently, My Wife And I Noticed An Exhaust Smell In The Cabin Of Our 2014 ford explorer (8k Miles) When We Accelerated Onto Highways. We Brought The Vehicle To ford And They Told Us There Was A Bulletin Out On The Exhaust Issue. The explorer Loaner They Gave Us Had The Problem Worse Than Ours So I Asked For Something Different To Drive. When We Got The explorer Back, I Still Noticed The Problem And Brought It Back To ford. They Insisted That There Was No Problem So I Went To My Local Fire Department And Borrowed A Carbon Monoxide Meter And Drove The Car On The Highway For One Mile After Testing Various Locations Inside The Cabin (for About 10 Minutes While Idling). Over One Mile The Carbon Monoxide Level In The Cabin Increased From 0 To 6 Parts Per Million (ppm). After Discovering The Dangerous Situation I Brought The Vehicle Back To ford Who Has Now Had The Vehicle For Right At 3 Weeks And Will Not Return My Phone Calls Or Update Me On The Issue. I Am Posting This So That Anyone Who Reads This Can Investigate This Possible Serious Health Issue For Themselves. If You Accelerate The Vehicle And Smell Exhaust, Take The Vehicle Into The Dealership To Have The Problem Fixed. If You Smell Exhaust It Is Still Getting Into The Cabin And Is Very Dangerous To Your Health. I Am Very Concerned ford Has Not Recalled Any Vehicles (2011-2014) To Make Sure People Are Not Driving Around With Dangerous Exhaust Fumes In The Vehicle. I Have Talked To Other explorer Owners Around Town And At Gas Stations And They Have Noticed This As Well. I Used A Calibrated Co Meter And Have Pictures Of The Readings.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 8000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7F86EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in CLEMMONS, NC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

Mar 02, 2015

Unknown Or Other Ford 2014
Ford
Location
San Diego, CA
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 30

I Have A 2014 ford explorer Sport And Whenever The Vehicle Accelerates It Severely Pulls To The Left. The Vehicle With Track Straight Until You Step On The Gas And It Pulls Severely To The Left Requiring Me To Compensate By While Driving. I Advised The Dealership On 10-8-14, 10-18-14, 12-4-14, On A March Oil Change With ford, 1-7-15 And 5-18-15.the Dealerships Initially Denied The Car Had Any Issues That Were Abnormal But Eventually They Admitted It Does Pull To The Left But It Was Normal According To The ford Engineers And Nothing Could Be Done To Correct It Since It Was A Natural Characteristic Of The Vehicle. I Did Not Agree Since I Have Driven Other Vehicles Of The Same Make And Model That Did Not Perform The Same As My Vehicle Does. I Also Spoke To Various ford Service Technicians That Indicated They Had Never Encountered This Issue And They Assumed That It Couldn’t Be Torque Steer Since The Intelligent 4 Wheel Drive Should Correct Any Wheels That Were Not Spinning At The Same Speed As The Others Causing The Vehicle To Pull In One Direction Or The Other. However, The Dealership Indicated They Could Only Go By What The Corporate Engineers Advised Them And That Was That The Issue Was Normal Despite The Vehicle Being Rated For A Maximum Towing Capacity Of 5,000 Pounds. I Also Haven’t Been Given An Explanation On Why The Left Tires On My Vehicle Are Worn Out Only On The Outside Of The Tire Exactly In The Direction The Car Is Pulling To. The Sever Pulling To The Left Is Not A Minor Think And The Car Will Move By The Feet To The Left Veering Out Of The Lane Unless I Compensate While Steering, Yet It Drives Absolutely Straight If I Let Off The Gas And I Can’t Imagine Towing Anything Behind This Vehicle With These Abnormal Driving Conditions.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 6635 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8GT7EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in SAN DIEGO, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

Oct 08, 2014

Unknown Or Other Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Bonnerdale, AR
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed

Bought This 2014 ford explorer New The Last Of May, 2014. Immediately Upon Acceleration Smelled Exhaust. Thought It Was Coming From Outside Air. The Smell Stopped When We Quit Using The Air Conditioner. The Smell Started Again This Summer When We Started Using The Air Conditioner.. We Finally Realized That It Was Our Vehicle And Not Outside Air. Took Car On Vacation And It Was So Bad It Made Us All Sick. Have Had It To The Dealer Two Times. The First Time They Said They Could Not Find Anything Wrong. Today, We Took It Back As It Is So Bad I Am Sick. They Admitted There Was A Known Problem But No Fix. Said There Will Be A Fix In The Near Future. The Carbon Monoxide Is So Strong At Random Times That We Are Getting Afraid To Drive It. It Seems To Be The Worse On Sudden Acceleration, Such As Pulling Out Into Traffic. Something Needs To Be Done As This Is Very Dangerous. We Were Sick During Vacation As Well As The Lady Who Was With Us.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 200 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8D87EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in BONNERDALE, AR. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

June 02, 2014

Unknown Or Other Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Houston, TX
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 70

When Accelerating Hard, Exhaust Fumes Blow Into The Cabin From The Ac. Called The Dealership Within A Month After Buying The Vehicle And Was Told That It Was Because The Car/engine Was New. I’d Never Owned A New Car Before So I Took Their Word For It. However, After The Issue Kept Reoccuring For 8+ Months, I Brought The explorer To The Dealership And Told Them I Wanted It Checked Out. I Was Informed That Nothing Was Wrong And I Could Try Using A Fuel Additive To Help Clean The Engine. Any Time I Accelerate Hard, I Pretty Much Just Have To Roll Down The Window Or I’ll Start Getting Light Headed. It Has Reached The Point That I’m Now Looking To Get A New Vehicle. I’m Amazed That Despite Multiple Lawsuits Against ford, These explorers Have Yet To Be Recalled.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 2000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7F87EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in HOUSTON, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 70 mph.

Sept 16, 2014

Unknown Or Other Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Cincinnati, OH
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed

I Am Noticing A Smell Coming Out Of Air Vents. Occurring Since As Far Back As I Remember But Don’t Recall Exact Date When I Started Questioning The Smell.. The Smell Is A Burning Smell – Not Electrical But Almost Like Hair/hair Dryer When It Gets Hot. I Notice When I Accelerate To Get On Expressways And/or If I’m Going Up A Hill (basically When I Go Into High Gear). My Husband Was In The Car At A Time Recently And So I Asked Him If He Could Smell It And He Immediately Said It Was Exhaust Coming In Through The Air Vents. I’m Not Sure If I Can Smell It More When The Air Is On And The Windows Closed But Due To Allergies And Respiratory Issues I More Times Than Not Drive With Windows Closed And Therefore Smell It Quite Often Throughout The Year. I Am Not Sure If Directly Related Or Not But Last Two Years I Drove 12 Hours To Florida And By The Time I Go There I Had Headache And Breathing Problems And Continue To Struggle With That More Often Than I Ever Have Before. I’m Worried That This Exhaust Into My Car Is Magnifying My Health Issues. Regardless, It Is A Danger To Have This Exhaust Coming In Through The Car. I Am Taking To ford This Coming Friday. I Stopped In To Talk To Them And They Said They Were Not Aware Of Issues Like This. I Googled The Issue Merely As “ford Explore Exhaust Issues” And Was Shocked And Horrified By The Fact That It Appears Very Common And That A Civil Suit Was Filed In Florida. Right Now They Are Saying Warranties Should Cover The Fix But I’ve Read Where The Fix Isn’t Working Either. I Will See What They Say Once They Have My Car But Anyone Having This Problem Needs To Report It So That It Can Be Rectified By Everyone Having This Vehicle During The Years Noted In The Claims! In Just Coming To This Site Alone I See That Several Others Are Having Same Issues. I Don’t Pay This Much For A Vehicle For It To Make Me Sick!

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 25 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8F8XEG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in CINCINNATI, OH. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Sept 15, 2014

Unknown Or Other Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Leesville, LA
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 45

When Accelerating Onto Highway, There Is A Strong Exhaust-like Odor Coming From The Vents. I Have Taken The Vehicle Back To The Dealership And They Cannot Find Any Reason Why The Odor Would Be Coming Inside The Vehicle. This Is Extremely Disturbing As I Also Have My 4 Year Old Inhaling These Fumes Which I Believe Is Carbon Monoxide. This Needs To Be Checked Into By Fmc.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 45000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7F86EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in LEESVILLE, LA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

Aug 17, 2015

Unknown Or Other Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Deland, FL
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 45

Exhaust Fumes Entering Cabin Upon Acceleration, Such As Entering Interstate Or Passing Another Vehicle.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7F83EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in DELAND, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

June 21, 2014

Unknown Or Other Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Covington, IN
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 45

A Few Months After Purchasing Our 2014 explorer, We Noticed An Exhaust/sulfur Order In The Passenger Compartment Following A Medium Acceleration Entering An Interstate Highway. We Reported The Odor To The Dealership And Turned The Vehicle In For Repair. Dealership Was Unable To Recreate The Order So Nothing Was Done. A Few Months Later, Under Similar Circumstances, The Odor Returned. Once Again, We Turned The Vehicle In For Repair. The Dealer Performed A Repair Based On A Tsb. A Few Months Later, The Odor Returned And Once Again Turned The Vehicle In For Repair. The Dealer Performed A Continuation Of The Same Tsb. A Few Months Later, While Pulling A Boat, The Odor Returned. Once Again, We Turned The Vehicle In For Repair. The Dealer Owner And The Service Tech Drove The Vehicle For Several Days And Were Unable To Detect The Smell. The Very Next Day While Pulling The Boat, The Odor Returned. The Dealer Now Says They Don’t Want To Perform The Last Part Of The Tsb Because If They Send ford A Part That’s Not Defective, ford Will Charge Them Back For The Part….meanwhile I’m Stuck Driving A Vehicle That May Be Putting Sulfur And/or Carbon Monoxide Into The Passenger Compartment. The Dealer Wants Me To Bring My Boat And Vehicle In So They Can Test It Which Isn’t Going To Happen Because If They Wreck The Vehicle With The Boat, My Insurance Has To Cover It Through The Permissive Use Clause And My Rates Will Go Up.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 5000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8D83EG. Ford Explorer 2014 problem was reported in COVINGTON, IN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

Oct 01, 2014

2014 Ford Explorer problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Ford Explorer, driving a 2014 Ford Explorer, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported FordUnknown Or Other problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>