2014 Ford Focus Electric Electrical System problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 20, 2016.

Rate this post

Ford Focus Electric Electrical System problems and reviews: 19.

Are you driving a 2014 Ford Focus Electric, or planning to buy one? Review reported Electrical System problems and defects.

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Elk Grove, CA
Model Focus Electric
System Electrical System
Speed 35

I Was Traveling About 35 Mph When My Car Flashed A Message “stop Safely Now” And The Car Had Lost Power To The Wheels And I Was Now Just Coasting. I Pulled The Vehicle Off To The Side Of The Road. I Was Able To Turn Off The Vehicle And Get It Started Again. I Was Lucky That I Was Able To Safely Get My Vehicle To A Safe Place Had This Been On A Freeway I Would Have Surely Been In A Serious Accident. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 667 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R41EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in ELK GROVE, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. FUEL TYPE: HYBRID ELECTRIC. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Sept 26, 2013

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Fremont, CA
Model Focus Electric
System Electrical System
Speed 0

Car Was In The Garage With Fully Charged. I Tried To Start Car And I Got Message “safe Mode Shutdown” On The Right Screen And “stop Safely Now” On The Left Screen. Car Lights Start Blinking And After A While Whole Car Shutdown And Disabled. Car Is Not Responding Remote Key. Back Door Is Locked And Can’t Open. I Tried To Put Back To Charged And Nothing Changed At All. I Called ford Road Side Assistance And Taking Car To Service Tomorrow. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 2850 miles. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in FREMONT, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

June 20, 2014

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Monterey, CA
Model Focus Electric
System Electrical System
Speed 10

Purchased A 2014 ford focus Electric In July Of 2014. About 1 Month And 1400 Miles Later I Began To Experience Problems With The “stop Safely Now” Message. Vehicle Will Immediately Loose Power To Accelerator While Still Maintaining Power To Braking And Steering. The Problem Has Occurred 4 Times While Driving Since The 31st Of July (today Is 5 Aug 2014). Attempted To Take To The Dealer Today. However, The Only Certified Ev Technician Is On Vacation Until Next Week. ford Website Says Vehicle Is Not Eligible For Current Recalls. I Will Attempt To Bring Vehicle To Service Center Next Week. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1400 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R46EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in MONTEREY, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. FUEL TYPE: HYBRID ELECTRIC. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

July 31, 2014

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Portland, OR
Model Focus Electric
System Electrical System
Speed 45

On 4 Separate Occasions With 48 Hours The “stop Safely Now” Warning Appeared On The Dash Accompanied With A Total Loss Of Power And/or The Engine Shutting Off While The Vehicle Was In Motion. These Occurred In Distinctly Different Scenarios: While Accelerating From A Stop, While Braking, And Two Occurrences While Traveling At 45 Mph And 35 Mph. The Brakes And Steering Thankfully Still Worked However Accidents Almost Occurred In The Two Higher Speed Scenarios. The Vehicle Could Be Restarted After It Was Turned Off And On Again. The Warning Would Disappear With No Further Information.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1250 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R44EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in PORTLAND, OR. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

Nov 02, 2014

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Fresno, CA
Model Focus Electric
System Electrical System
Speed 2

ford‘s Recall Campaign Number 13s09 Only Addressed Certain Models Produced Thru Late 2013, However My Car Was Produced In 3/2014 And Displayed The Same Issue. I’ve Experienced Two Occasions Where The Car Lost Power And Displayed The “stop Safely Now” Warning Message On Cluster. The First Happened On 11/7/14 While Stopped At A Stop Sign. Took It To ford Dealer Who Cleared Code And Stated It’s Is Fine. It Happened Again On 11/13/14 While Driving Up On My Driveway. Both Times, The Car Worked Again After Turning It Off And Waiting About 5 Mins.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 4918 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R40EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in FRESNO, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 2 mph.

Nov 13, 2014

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
San Jose, CA
Model Focus Electric
System Electrical System
Speed 10

While Exiting The Freeway The “stop Safely Now” Warning Light Illuminated And The Electric Drive Motor Lost Power. After Approximately 5 Minutes The Car Power Restored And I Was Able To Complete My Commute. ford Has Not Given Me A Reason For The Failure Yet.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 2700 miles. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in SAN JOSE, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Nov 18, 2014

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Pleasanton, CA
Model Focus Electric
System Electrical System
Speed 20

During Driving In The Rain And The Car Had The “stop Safely” Light Come On And It Stalled In The Middle Of The Road. I Had My Kids With Me And Traffic Behind Me When This Happened. This Happened Twice In A Matter Of Couple Of Hours. It Gain Happened On December 3, As I Braked At A Red Light.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1620 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R41EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in PLEASANTON, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Dec 02, 2014

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Kennewick, WA
Model Focus Electric
System Electrical System
Speed 35

Brand New 2014 ford focus Electric – Less Than 200 Miles On Odometer. Driving On 35mph Road During Evening Rush Hour The Car Suddenly Flashed A “stop Safely Now” Warning On The Dash. As I Looked For A Place To Pull Over The Car Shut Down Completely (dash Gauges Went Dark…estimated Less Than 10 Seconds After Warning Message). Fortunately I Was Able To Coast Into A Parking Lot Because I Was At Speed But I Lost Power Steering. Headlights Flickering, Relays Clicking, Etc. I Called ford Roadside Assistance For A Tow. Had This Happened At A Faster Speed On A Highway, I Or Other Drivers Could Have Been Killed Or Severely Injured. ford Supposedly Corrected This Defected In Earlier Models Years. At This Point I Do Not Feel Safe Driving The Vehicle Until I Have Positive Confirmation The Problem Has Been Identified And Corrected. ford Is Going To Kill Someone If They Don’t Get This Corrected! At Http://www.myfocuselectric.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=900&sid=8bb1f29cee82b54e62bb67213b1b3b1d&start=500 There Are A String Of Complaints From ford focus Electric Owners On This Dangerous Defect. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 185 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R49EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in KENNEWICK, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Ford Focus Electric 2014 drive type:FWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Dec 01, 2014

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
El Dorado Hills, CA
Model Focus Electric
System Electrical System
Speed 0

Stop Safely Now Error Message Displayed Along With Multiple Other Error Messages (tire Fault, Engine Coolant Error, Rear Parking Sensor Error, Etc). Car Is Brand New And Unable To Drive.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 2200 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R41EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in EL DORADO HILLS, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Dec 23, 2014

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Fortuna, CA
Model Focus Electric
System Electrical System
Speed 55

The Vehicle Shut Off While Leaving The Freeway

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 9000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R46EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in FORTUNA, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

Sept 12, 2014

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Vancouver, WA
Model Focus Electric
System Electrical System
Speed 10

Was Taking Off From Work – Barely Got Out Of The Parking Lot And The Car Came Up With The Warning Light And Said To Pull Over. Barely Pulled Over The Car Shut Off. Dealer Hasnt Really Had To Work On Their Electric Cars, Had To Contact Their Engineering Department. Now They Say They Have To Replace The electrical Harness Of The Car. Car Also Doesnt Grip The Road When At A Stop And Trying To Do A Quick Pull Out To Merge Into Traffic.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 3865 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R45EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in VANCOUVER, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Jan 27, 2015

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
San Diego, CA
Model Focus Electric
System Electrical System
Speed 5

While Driving My 2014 ford Fusion Ev, The Stop Safely Now Warning Sounded And The Stop Safely Now Warning Error Displayed. The Car Immediately Lost Power And Stranded Me In The Middle Of The Road. This Occurred In Front On My Home. My Husband Was Able To Restart It. I Drove The Car And Within Seconds, Once Again Experienced The Stop Safely Now Warning And Immediate Power Loss. The Car Was Towed To The ford Dealer.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 5972 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R41EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in SAN DIEGO, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

Apr 25, 2015

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Seattle, WA
Model Focus Electric
System Electrical System
Speed 35

While Driving Down A Major Local Road, The Car Completely Lost Driving Power (accessories Still Worked) And A Warning Light On The Dashboard Came On Saying “stop Safely Now!”. My Wife Was Barely Able To Pull Over And We Were Unable To Get The Car Moving Again, Eventually Towing It To The Dealership. When We Picked The Car Up They Stated That A Connection To The High Voltage Battery Came Loose And They’ve Fixed It. Yesterday, When Attempting To Start The Car, The Same Warning Message Came On And The Car Would Not Start. We Once Again Have Had The Car Towed To The Dealership. The Dealer Called Me This Morning Saying The Car “works Fine” Which Makes Me More Concerned Since Clearly This Issue Is Now Totally Unpredictable.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 2250 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R45EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in SEATTLE, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Apr 20, 2015

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Houston, TX
Model Focus Electric
System Electrical System
Speed 20

The Contact Owns A 2014 ford focus Electric. While Driving At Approximately 20 Mph, The Engine Stalled Without Warning. The Failure Occurred On Several Occasions. The Vehicle Was Towed To The Dealer, But Was Not Diagnosed Or Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Notified. The Failure Mileage Was 3,950. …updated 07/30/15 *bf Updated 09/08/15*lj

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 3950 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R45EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in HOUSTON, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

May 20, 2015

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
San Jose, CA
Model Focus Electric
System Electrical System
Speed 0

The Vehicle Has Reported “stop Safely Now” And Doesn’t Start. Luckily The Car Is Parked In The Garage. This Is The Second Time Of Happening Without Any Further Diagnostic Details Or Warning. Last Time This Happened In The Middle Of The Road While Driving And Shut The Power To The Wheels Completely.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 19800 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R42EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in SAN JOSE, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

June 30, 2015

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Livermore, CA
Model Focus Electric
System Electrical System
Speed 10

“stop Safely Now” Warning And Motor Shut Down While Driving On City Roads. The Car Was Pushed To A Nearby Parking Lot. Has Been At The Dealership For Nearly 2 Months Due To A Backorder Of A High Voltage Power Cable. ford Has Been Unhelpful And Is Not Taking Responsibility For The Part Backorder. They Are Claiming The Backorder Is The Manufacturer’s Responsibility And Not Their Own.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 3000 miles. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in LIVERMORE, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

May 13, 2015

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Long Beach, CA
Model Focus Electric
System Electrical System
Speed 0

Stop Safely Now Error Message Appears When Trying To Start The Car, Often. The Error Disables The Car. Sometimes The Car Will Work Immediately After Restarting And Sometimes I Just Have To Try Again Later In The Day After Finding Alternative Modes Of Transportation For The Time Being. Most Often Occurs When Conditions Or Damp Like Early Morning Or Following Rain.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 15000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R49EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in LONG BEACH, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Nov 20, 2014

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Fremont, CA
Model Focus Electric
System Electrical System
Speed 35

“stop Safely Now” Warning Light Came On At ~18k Miles, 17 Months Into Ownership, While Driving On Express Way At ~35 Mph. Car Powered Off After Coming To A Complete Stop At Next Stoplight, Was Stranded Before Intersection. Car Did Power Up Again And Was Driveable After Opening And Closing Driver Door, Waiting Several Minutes, And Turned Power Off And On.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 18000 miles. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in FREMONT, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Sept 06, 2015

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Laguna Niguel, CA
Model Focus Electric
System Electrical System
Speed 65

On Tuesday, September 22, 2015, While My Son Was Driving On The Freeway At 65 Mph In The Carpool Lane, The Car Suddenly Stalled On Him And Loss All Power To The Car. A Message Popped Up On The Dash In An Orange Triangle Stated “stop Safely Now”. Since He Was In The Carpool Lane, He Did Not Have Enough Time To Get The Car Off To The Side. He Was Stranded In A Busy Carpool Lane And Almost Got Rear End From Behind When The Car Suddenly Cut Off All Power And Came To A Stop. This Has Put My Son In A Great Danger Situation!!! He Could Have Got Rear Ended And The Stalling Of The Car Could Have Caused A Multi-cars Accident In The Carpool Lane On The Freeway. Somehow He Managed To Able To Restart The Car After Turning The Car On, Off And Opening The Driver Side Door And Closing It Several Time. The Car Continue To Have The Same Problem On And Off For The Next Couple Of Days. We Finally Got The Car Into ford Dealership September 24, 2015. At The Time Of This Report, ford Dealership Has Not Call Me With A Cause For The Issue. I Also Noted That There Was A Recall For A Similar Issue That Was Issued From ford For The Electric Vehicle For Model 2012 To 2014. The Serviceman At ford Dealership Told Me That My Vin Number Was Not On That Recall List Yet My Son Still Encountered The Same Issue That Was Described In The Nhtsa Investigation Report A Couple Of Years Ago. I Don

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>