2014 Ford Focus Electric Engine problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 20, 2016.

Rate this post

Ford Focus Electric Engine problems and reviews: 13.

Are you driving a 2014 Ford Focus Electric, or planning to buy one? Review reported Engine problems and defects.

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Elk Grove, CA
Model Focus Electric
System Engine
Speed 35

I Was Traveling About 35 Mph When My Car Flashed A Message “stop Safely Now” And The Car Had Lost Power To The Wheels And I Was Now Just Coasting. I Pulled The Vehicle Off To The Side Of The Road. I Was Able To Turn Off The Vehicle And Get It Started Again. I Was Lucky That I Was Able To Safely Get My Vehicle To A Safe Place Had This Been On A Freeway I Would Have Surely Been In A Serious Accident. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 667 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R41EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in ELK GROVE, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. FUEL TYPE: HYBRID ELECTRIC. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Sept 26, 2013

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Moraga, CA
Model Focus Electric
System Engine
Speed 5

Without Earning, This Electric Vehicle’s Power Systems Die, Even If Fully Charged. The Car Is Left Inoperable. A Engine Light “stop Safely Now” Appears And The Car Can’t Move. Very Dangerous If It Happens In Moving Traffic. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 3600 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R43EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in MORAGA, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. FUEL TYPE: HYBRID ELECTRIC. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

Apr 09, 2014

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Portland, OR
Model Focus Electric
System Engine
Speed 45

On 4 Separate Occasions With 48 Hours The “stop Safely Now” Warning Appeared On The Dash Accompanied With A Total Loss Of Power And/or The Engine Shutting Off While The Vehicle Was In Motion. These Occurred In Distinctly Different Scenarios: While Accelerating From A Stop, While Braking, And Two Occurrences While Traveling At 45 Mph And 35 Mph. The Brakes And Steering Thankfully Still Worked However Accidents Almost Occurred In The Two Higher Speed Scenarios. The Vehicle Could Be Restarted After It Was Turned Off And On Again. The Warning Would Disappear With No Further Information.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1250 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R44EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in PORTLAND, OR. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

Nov 02, 2014

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Fresno, CA
Model Focus Electric
System Engine
Speed 2

ford‘s Recall Campaign Number 13s09 Only Addressed Certain Models Produced Thru Late 2013, However My Car Was Produced In 3/2014 And Displayed The Same Issue. I’ve Experienced Two Occasions Where The Car Lost Power And Displayed The “stop Safely Now” Warning Message On Cluster. The First Happened On 11/7/14 While Stopped At A Stop Sign. Took It To ford Dealer Who Cleared Code And Stated It’s Is Fine. It Happened Again On 11/13/14 While Driving Up On My Driveway. Both Times, The Car Worked Again After Turning It Off And Waiting About 5 Mins.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 4918 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R40EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in FRESNO, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 2 mph.

Nov 13, 2014

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Kennewick, WA
Model Focus Electric
System Engine
Speed 35

Brand New 2014 ford focus Electric – Less Than 200 Miles On Odometer. Driving On 35mph Road During Evening Rush Hour The Car Suddenly Flashed A “stop Safely Now” Warning On The Dash. As I Looked For A Place To Pull Over The Car Shut Down Completely (dash Gauges Went Dark…estimated Less Than 10 Seconds After Warning Message). Fortunately I Was Able To Coast Into A Parking Lot Because I Was At Speed But I Lost Power Steering. Headlights Flickering, Relays Clicking, Etc. I Called ford Roadside Assistance For A Tow. Had This Happened At A Faster Speed On A Highway, I Or Other Drivers Could Have Been Killed Or Severely Injured. ford Supposedly Corrected This Defected In Earlier Models Years. At This Point I Do Not Feel Safe Driving The Vehicle Until I Have Positive Confirmation The Problem Has Been Identified And Corrected. ford Is Going To Kill Someone If They Don’t Get This Corrected! At Http://www.myfocuselectric.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=900&sid=8bb1f29cee82b54e62bb67213b1b3b1d&start=500 There Are A String Of Complaints From ford focus Electric Owners On This Dangerous Defect. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 185 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R49EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in KENNEWICK, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Ford Focus Electric 2014 drive type:FWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Dec 01, 2014

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
El Dorado Hills, CA
Model Focus Electric
System Engine
Speed 0

Stop Safely Now Error Message Displayed Along With Multiple Other Error Messages (tire Fault, Engine Coolant Error, Rear Parking Sensor Error, Etc). Car Is Brand New And Unable To Drive.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 2200 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R41EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in EL DORADO HILLS, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Dec 23, 2014

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Carlsbad, CA
Model Focus Electric
System Engine
Speed 50

I Was Driving The Vehicle When The “stop Safely Now” (ssn) Flashed On The Dash And The Car Started Beeping. I Slowed Down And Was Able To Get Off The Road. The Car Then Died And Was Inoperable. I Got Out To Look Around The Car And Make Sure There Were No Flat Tires – Everything Seemed Fine. After A Few Minutes – I Was Able To Start The Car And It Worked As Usual. The Car Seemed Fine So I Kept Driving It Without Incident Until January 6th, 2015 When I Was Driving The 3 Kids Home From School – The Battery Had 75% On It And The Ssn Flashed On My Dashboard. I Slowed Down Coming To A Light – And The Car Went Completely Dead – I Tried To Move It Out Of The Lane To The Side Of The Road – But There Was No Power To Do That. We Were Stopped In The Lane Of A Busy 4 Lane Road. There Was No Way Around Our Car Without Cars Merging Into The Other Lane. It Was Very Dangerous And Unsafe For Our Family. I Called Aaa To Have The Car Towed. I Tried Every Few Minutes To Start The Car – But It Wouldn’t Work. Finally After 15 Minutes – I Started The Car And It Acted As If Nothing Was Wrong. I Drove The Car To The Dealer And They Saide The Code Poa0a: 01-08-pcm Showed – They Reset It And Said No New Code Came Up When They Test Drove It. Now A Week Later – I Am Driving The Car On 1/14/15 And The Ssn Come On Again. I Slow Down – The Car Won’t Move Or Restart. I Wait 10 Minutes. The Car Started And I Drove It Back To The Dealer – The Same Code Appeared. They Reset It – But Now Want To Keep The Car Until They Can Get It To Stall On Them. There Is Very Little Time From When The Ssn Flashed And Beeps To Pull Of The Road And Get Out Of Harms Way. The Last 2 Times It Happened I Was Stuck In The Lane Of Traffic And Could Not Move The Car.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 9500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R4XEL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in CARLSBAD, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 50 mph.

Nov 26, 2014

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Vancouver, WA
Model Focus Electric
System Engine
Speed 10

Was Taking Off From Work – Barely Got Out Of The Parking Lot And The Car Came Up With The Warning Light And Said To Pull Over. Barely Pulled Over The Car Shut Off. Dealer Hasnt Really Had To Work On Their Electric Cars, Had To Contact Their Engineering Department. Now They Say They Have To Replace The Electrical Harness Of The Car. Car Also Doesnt Grip The Road When At A Stop And Trying To Do A Quick Pull Out To Merge Into Traffic.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 3865 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R45EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in VANCOUVER, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Jan 27, 2015

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Seattle, WA
Model Focus Electric
System Engine
Speed 35

While Driving Down A Major Local Road, The Car Completely Lost Driving Power (accessories Still Worked) And A Warning Light On The Dashboard Came On Saying “stop Safely Now!”. My Wife Was Barely Able To Pull Over And We Were Unable To Get The Car Moving Again, Eventually Towing It To The Dealership. When We Picked The Car Up They Stated That A Connection To The High Voltage Battery Came Loose And They’ve Fixed It. Yesterday, When Attempting To Start The Car, The Same Warning Message Came On And The Car Would Not Start. We Once Again Have Had The Car Towed To The Dealership. The Dealer Called Me This Morning Saying The Car “works Fine” Which Makes Me More Concerned Since Clearly This Issue Is Now Totally Unpredictable.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 2250 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R45EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in SEATTLE, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Apr 20, 2015

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Vancouver, WA
Model Focus Electric
System Engine
Speed 55

Second Time This Has Happened. Back In January The Car Would Not Start From A Parking Lot. Dealership Checked It Out And Replaced The Harness. This Time Was Going Down The Freeway And The Car Shut Off And The Pull Over Now Message Came On. Luckily For Me The Person Behind Me Stayed With Us While I Pushed The Car Over To The Side. This Car Has Some Issues And Needs To Be Addressed. Its Back At The Dealership Today To Find Out What Is Wrong. I Am Going To See If They Dealership Will Take It Back And Get Me Something Else. I Am Not Comfortable With A Car Shutting Off While On The Freeway. Just Not Safe.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 5500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R45EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in VANCOUVER, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

May 30, 2014

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Houston, TX
Model Focus Electric
System Engine
Speed 20

The Contact Owns A 2014 ford focus Electric. While Driving At Approximately 20 Mph, The Engine Stalled Without Warning. The Failure Occurred On Several Occasions. The Vehicle Was Towed To The Dealer, But Was Not Diagnosed Or Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Notified. The Failure Mileage Was 3,950. …updated 07/30/15 *bf Updated 09/08/15*lj

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 3950 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R45EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in HOUSTON, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

May 20, 2015

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Fremont, CA
Model Focus Electric
System Engine
Speed 35

“stop Safely Now” Warning Light Came On At ~18k Miles, 17 Months Into Ownership, While Driving On Express Way At ~35 Mph. Car Powered Off After Coming To A Complete Stop At Next Stoplight, Was Stranded Before Intersection. Car Did Power Up Again And Was Driveable After Opening And Closing Driver Door, Waiting Several Minutes, And Turned Power Off And On.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 18000 miles. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in FREMONT, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Sept 06, 2015

Engine Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Laguna Niguel, CA
Model Focus Electric
System Engine
Speed 65

On Tuesday, September 22, 2015, While My Son Was Driving On The Freeway At 65 Mph In The Carpool Lane, The Car Suddenly Stalled On Him And Loss All Power To The Car. A Message Popped Up On The Dash In An Orange Triangle Stated “stop Safely Now”. Since He Was In The Carpool Lane, He Did Not Have Enough Time To Get The Car Off To The Side. He Was Stranded In A Busy Carpool Lane And Almost Got Rear End From Behind When The Car Suddenly Cut Off All Power And Came To A Stop. This Has Put My Son In A Great Danger Situation!!! He Could Have Got Rear Ended And The Stalling Of The Car Could Have Caused A Multi-cars Accident In The Carpool Lane On The Freeway. Somehow He Managed To Able To Restart The Car After Turning The Car On, Off And Opening The Driver Side Door And Closing It Several Time. The Car Continue To Have The Same Problem On And Off For The Next Couple Of Days. We Finally Got The Car Into ford Dealership September 24, 2015. At The Time Of This Report, ford Dealership Has Not Call Me With A Cause For The Issue. I Also Noted That There Was A Recall For A Similar Issue That Was Issued From ford For The Electric Vehicle For Model 2012 To 2014. The Serviceman At ford Dealership Told Me That My Vin Number Was Not On That Recall List Yet My Son Still Encountered The Same Issue That Was Described In The Nhtsa Investigation Report A Couple Of Years Ago. I Don

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>