2014 Ford Focus Electric Power Train problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 20, 2016.

Rate this post

Ford Focus Electric Power Train problems and reviews: 12.

Are you driving a 2014 Ford Focus Electric, or planning to buy one? Review reported Power Train problems and defects.

Power Train Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Atlanta, GA
Model Focus Electric
System Power Train
Speed 0

I Was Stopped At A Light In A Traffic Jam. Worried That I Would Run Out Electricity, I Shut Off The Car. When I Tried To Proceed, The Car Would Not Move, And A Warning Of “safely Stop Now” Illuminated On The Dash. I Tried “restarting” The Car Several Times. The Car Would Seem To “start,” But Would Not Move Forward — As If The Gear Would Not Engage. After Several Minutes, And With A Policeman Leaning Into The Window Barking Suggestions, The Car Started And Proceeded. Perhaps, When I Stopped Trying To Start The Car, The Car Wholly powered-off. Essentially “power Cycling” The Car. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 46 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R42EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in ATLANTA, GA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. FUEL TYPE: HYBRID ELECTRIC. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Feb 22, 2014

Power Train Ford 2014
Ford
Location
San Diego, CA
Model Focus Electric
System Power Train
Speed 45

3 Miles After Leaving The Parking Lot With My Mom And 2 Kids In The Car The “stop Safely Now” Warning Flashed And The Car Lost power. I Found Similar Complaint 10512459. I Had To Pull Over In The Bike Lane, Turn Off The Car And Restart It Until power War Restored. Same Thing Happened Next Day Right After Leaving Home. Now I Am Afraid To Go Out On The Highway Or On Narrow Country Roads With This Car. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 3600 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R4XEL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in SAN DIEGO, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. FUEL TYPE: HYBRID ELECTRIC. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

July 14, 2014

Power Train Ford 2014
Ford
Location
San Jose, CA
Model Focus Electric
System Power Train
Speed 25

Vehicle Lost power Suddenly With A Warning “stop Safely Now”. Since The Speed Was Low And There Wasn’t Anybody Behind Me, I Was Able To Marginally Pull Over From The Road. Tried To power Cycle Several Times And The Error Message Went Away. Started To Roll And The Message Popped Back Again And Regenerative Braking Stopped The Car Immediately. Tried 3 Times And Every Time I Started To Move The Error Message Will Kick In And Stall. The Car Is At The Dealer And They Are Taking A Look At It. My Wife Who Was Driving The Car Doesn’t Want To Drive It Anymore Because She Fears If This Happens On A Freeway Carpool Lane Traveling At 65mph There Is Going To Be A Pileup. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 9600 miles. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in SAN JOSE, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

Oct 08, 2014

Power Train Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Fresno, CA
Model Focus Electric
System Power Train
Speed 2

ford‘s Recall Campaign Number 13s09 Only Addressed Certain Models Produced Thru Late 2013, However My Car Was Produced In 3/2014 And Displayed The Same Issue. I’ve Experienced Two Occasions Where The Car Lost power And Displayed The “stop Safely Now” Warning Message On Cluster. The First Happened On 11/7/14 While Stopped At A Stop Sign. Took It To ford Dealer Who Cleared Code And Stated It’s Is Fine. It Happened Again On 11/13/14 While Driving Up On My Driveway. Both Times, The Car Worked Again After Turning It Off And Waiting About 5 Mins.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 4918 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R40EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in FRESNO, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 2 mph.

Nov 13, 2014

Power Train Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Fremont, CA
Model Focus Electric
System Power Train
Speed 5

I Leased 2014 ford focus Electric In Early October 2014, Now It Has 1082 Miles On Odometer. This Incident Happened After About Month After Owning The Car, My Daughter Reversed The Car Out Of Drive Way Into The Road. I Was With Her On The Passenger Seat. On Changing The Gear To “d” It Lost power. I Also Verified To Make Sure Car Was In Drive Mode (green Arrow Was On). No Response On Pressing Accelerator. No Other Messages On The Dash Board. Turned Off And Turned On Again After A Few Seconds, Car Worked Fine.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1083 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R40EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in FREMONT, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

Nov 09, 2014

Power Train Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Portland, OR
Model Focus Electric
System Power Train
Speed 25

While Driving In Normal Traffic, The Vehicle Showed A “stop Safely Now” Warning And Then Lost All power. Had To Push The Car Out Of Traffic Because Of Loss Of power. power Steering And Brakes Also Stopped Functioning. Vehicle Had To Be Towed To Dealership.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 11000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R48EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in PORTLAND, OR. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

Jan 18, 2015

Power Train Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Seattle, WA
Model Focus Electric
System Power Train
Speed 35

While Driving Down A Major Local Road, The Car Completely Lost Driving power (accessories Still Worked) And A Warning Light On The Dashboard Came On Saying “stop Safely Now!”. My Wife Was Barely Able To Pull Over And We Were Unable To Get The Car Moving Again, Eventually Towing It To The Dealership. When We Picked The Car Up They Stated That A Connection To The High Voltage Battery Came Loose And They’ve Fixed It. Yesterday, When Attempting To Start The Car, The Same Warning Message Came On And The Car Would Not Start. We Once Again Have Had The Car Towed To The Dealership. The Dealer Called Me This Morning Saying The Car “works Fine” Which Makes Me More Concerned Since Clearly This Issue Is Now Totally Unpredictable.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 2250 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R45EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in SEATTLE, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Apr 20, 2015

Power Train Ford 2014
Ford
Location
San Jose, CA
Model Focus Electric
System Power Train
Speed 0

The Vehicle Has Reported “stop Safely Now” And Doesn’t Start. Luckily The Car Is Parked In The Garage. This Is The Second Time Of Happening Without Any Further Diagnostic Details Or Warning. Last Time This Happened In The Middle Of The Road While Driving And Shut The power To The Wheels Completely.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 19800 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R42EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in SAN JOSE, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

June 30, 2015

Power Train Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Pleasanton, CA
Model Focus Electric
System Power Train
Speed 10

The Car Stalled With The Big Triangle “stop To Safety” Flashing. . It Started Stalling At Every Stop Signs And Signals. This Happened Several Times While The Kids Were In The Car And There Was No Way To Pull To Safety. This Resulted In Several Traffic Back Ups. The Incident Repeated Every Day And Finally The Car Was Taken To The Dealer On June 16. This Is The Second Time The Same Incident Is Taking Place. The First Time It Happened Was In Dec, 2014. As Of This Date Of Complaint, The Dealer Has Not Returned The Car.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):IFADP3R41EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in PLEASANTON, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

June 09, 2015

Power Train Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Livermore, CA
Model Focus Electric
System Power Train
Speed 10

“stop Safely Now” Warning And Motor Shut Down While Driving On City Roads. The Car Was Pushed To A Nearby Parking Lot. Has Been At The Dealership For Nearly 2 Months Due To A Backorder Of A High Voltage power Cable. ford Has Been Unhelpful And Is Not Taking Responsibility For The Part Backorder. They Are Claiming The Backorder Is The Manufacturer’s Responsibility And Not Their Own.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 3000 miles. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in LIVERMORE, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

May 13, 2015

Power Train Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Long Beach, CA
Model Focus Electric
System Power Train
Speed 0

Stop Safely Now Error Message Appears When Trying To Start The Car, Often. The Error Disables The Car. Sometimes The Car Will Work Immediately After Restarting And Sometimes I Just Have To Try Again Later In The Day After Finding Alternative Modes Of Transportation For The Time Being. Most Often Occurs When Conditions Or Damp Like Early Morning Or Following Rain.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 15000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R49EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in LONG BEACH, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Nov 20, 2014

Power Train Ford 2014
Ford
Location
San Jose, CA
Model Focus Electric
System Power Train
Speed 65

19k Miles And 2 Years Into Having This Car — “stop Safely Now” Shows Up With A Red Triangle On The Dashboard And The Car Suddenly Loses power While Driving. It Happened To Me On Freeway With Kids On Board And Was Very Scary. ford Would Not Help. My Car Is Not On Recall List Though This Is Exact Same Issue Reported On Nhtsa Website About This Car. Dealer Is Super Busy And I Don’t Expect My Car To Be Looked At For Days. Its Really Frustrating To Be Held Hostage On This, Being Stuck With No Car To Commute To My Work Without Absolutely Any Fault Of Mine.

Mileage was 19500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3R49EL. Ford Focus Electric 2014 problem was reported in SAN JOSE, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Oct 12, 2015

2014 Ford Focus Electric problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Ford Focus Electric, driving a 2014 Ford Focus Electric, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported FordPower Train problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>