2014 Ford Focus Electrical System problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 20, 2016.

Rate this post

Ford Focus Electrical System problems and reviews: 18.

Are you driving a 2014 Ford Focus, or planning to buy one? Review reported Electrical System problems and defects.

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Rincon, GA
Model Focus
System Electrical System
Speed 20

2014 ford focus St With Manual Transmission When Decelerating To A Stop Sign Or Stop Light (approx 20-10 Mph), And Engaging The Clutch To Coast With The Car In Neutral, The Car Will Almost Stall (drops To About ~500 Rpm) And Then The Engine “catches Itself” And Will Rev To 1000-1200 Rpm Before Settling Back To A Normal 700-800 Rpm Idle. This Happens At Random, But “ac/on” Also Increases Likelihood Of Occurrences. This Happens Every Trip. I Stopped Counting After 12 Events In The First Seven Days. The Car Also “hunts” For It’s Idle Speed (with A Warmed Engine) And Varies From 700-1000 Rpm, Apparently At Random. There Is Already A ford Tsb For This, Tsb# 13-09-07, But It Can Only Be Accomplished If An Engine Completely Shuts Down And Throws A Check Engine Light/code. Due To The Fact That This Could Completely Shut Off An Engine While Stopping Near Other Motorists, Like The Recent Gm Ignition Issue, I Believe ford Should Recall All These Vehicles. It Is A 45 Minute Repair And Approx $8 Dollars In Parts To Repair Two “crimped Wire Connections” In The Main Wiring Harness, (s132 & S133). They Need To Be Soldered, Not Crimped (6 Bare Copper Wires Overlaid Together And Crimped). I Have Been To Two ford Dealerships But They Are Under Strict ford Guidelines Not To Accomplish The Tsb Unless There Is A Check Engine Light/code. I Even Offered To Pay For The Repair And Was Turned Away Both Times. I Believe It Is Better To Accomplish This Tsb And Remove The Concern Than To Wait For An Owner Safety Issue Leading To Engine Shut Down And An Accident. There Have Been Numerous Complaints About This Issue On Forums At focus St.org: Http://www.focusst.org/forum/forum.php [search For Tsb 13-9-7]. There Are Youtube Videos Of This Event As Well. Please Help ford Resolve This Issue Before It Hurts Someone. Thank You Kindly. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 220 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3L90EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in RINCON, GA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Jan 31, 2014

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
San Gabriel, CA
Model Focus
System Electrical System
Speed 15

My ford focus (2014) Shuts Off At Idle. I Have Taken The Car To Get Fixed Twice. Now The Dealer Has Had My Car For A Week And They Are Still Trying To Find Out What The Problem Is. Also I Have Found On The St Forms That There Is A Lot Of ford St Owners With The Same Problem. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 6500 miles. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in SAN GABRIEL, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 15 mph.

Mar 18, 2014

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Knoxville, TN
Model Focus
System Electrical System
Speed 30

Trouble With The Dual Clutch Automatic Transmission From The First Day Of Ownership. The Car Now Has 6k Miles And The Problems Persist. The Following Problems Are Even Worse During Cold Weather: The Transmission Shifts Poorly, Roughly, Misses Shifts, Chooses The Wrong Gear For The Vehicle Speed, Disengages And Sends The Engine To Redline Then Drops Into Gear With A Bang And Either Slows The Vehicle With Engine Braking Because The Gear Is Too Low, Or Lugs The Engine With No Acceleration Because The Gear Is Too High. The Transmission Is Always Shifting, And Seems ‘confused’ As To What Gear That It Should Be In. In City Driving, If I Need To Suddenly Brake, When I Re-apply The Throttle Again, The Transmission Hangs Between Gears And The Engine Revs To Redline Then Drops Into Gear And Chirps The Tires. The Transmission Also Makes Grinding Noises When Changing From 1st To 2nd Gear. Also Very Slow To Drop To A Lower Gear When Throttle Is Pressed For Quick Acceleration. Takes About 2 Seconds For It To Downshift And Then Accelerate. Also, The Gear Indicator On The Console (prnds) Doesn’t Line Up With The Shifter Or Illuminate To Show Which Gear Is Selected, So It’s Difficult To Tell Whether I’ve Selected Reverse, Neutral, Or Drive. In Addition, The Display On The Instrument Panel That Shows The Gear Selection Sometimes Takes Over 30 Seconds To Illuminate Or ‘boot Up’ To Indicate What Gear Is Selected. I Often End Up In Neutral When I Think I’ve Chosen Reverse Or Drive While I Wait For The Instrument Panel Indicator To ‘boot Up’. The Dealerships Say That I Have The Current Software, And, “they All Do That.” Dangerous, And Will Probably Add Up To Very Expensive Repairs As It Can’t Possibly Be Reliable Under These Conditions. *tt

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3K29EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in KNOXVILLE, TN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

Sept 02, 2013

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Shrewsbury, MA
Model Focus
System Electrical System
Speed 10

ford focus St 2014 On Hot / Humid Day When You Start The Car Up The Engine Revs Will Drop To <500 Rpm And The Engine Will Shutter Or Completely Stall. In Addition, While Travelling At Speeds 10-20 Mph When The Clutch Gets Pushed In The Engine Will Hunt Idle From Xrpm And Drop To <500rpm Rapidly And The Car Will Shutter Or Completely Stall. I Have Been Driving My Car Down The Road And Had It Completely Stall While Moving. If This Happens In The Middle Of The Road Or Intersection It Is Seriously Dangerous. ford Is Aware Of The Issue, But Are Not Fixing The electrical Problem Unless A Specific Engine Code Is Stored In The Computer. It Has Been Proven That The Engine Will Stall In These Situations And Still Not Throw An Engine Code, Thus, ford Will Not Perform The Service. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 18000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3L91EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in SHREWSBURY, MA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

May 01, 2014

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Chester Gap, VA
Model Focus
System Electrical System
Speed 65

While Cruising At A Steady 65mph In Rush Hour Traffic On The Interstate My Vehicle Unexpectedly Went Into What The ford Dealer Later Called “limp Mode.” The Car Lost Almost All Its Power And At First Seemed To Be Stalled. I Was Unable To Accelerate And The Speed Gradually Dropped. There Were Tractor-trailers Merging Onto And Off The Interstate, And I Had A Fearful Sensation Of Going Up Under One. There Was Too Much Traffic To “back Off” And Go Behind Them, And I Had No Acceleration To Get Around. It Felt Like I Was Going To Be “run Over,” And I’m Not So Sure The Tractor-trailer Drivers Could Even See Me. At The Next Exit I Immediately Left The Interstate And Pulled Into A Gas Station, Turning Off The Engine. Taking Off And Accelerating From The Interstate Exit To This Station Was Actually Very Difficult. It Felt Like I Was Going To Cause An Accident Because The Car Did Not Have Enough Acceleration To Properly Maneuver. I Was Not Sure What Happened And Immediately Called The Service Department At The Nearest ford Dealer. I Spoke With A Lady Who Seemed Very Knowledgeable About The Problem, (which Actually Worries Me Because That Makes It Seem Like A Common Issue), But Offered No Solution. She Almost Seemed Slightly “irritated,” As If It Was Something She Had “explained Many Times Before.” She Said “turn The Car Off For About 10-15 Minutes And Let The Computer Reset. If There Is A Major Problem It Will Still Be In ‘limp Mode,’ But More Likely It Was A Fluke And Will Turn Off.” I Asked, “why Did This Happen? It’s Only Six Months Old And I Was Just Cruising Down The Highway.” Her Response Was ‘yeah, It Just Happens.'” I Personally Feel Like This Is Something That Could Be Widespread And Needs Investigation. It Felt Like A Highly Dangerous Situation, And Is Apt To Repeat Itself. The Dealer Offered No Immediate Solution Other Than, “let’s Just See What Happens.” *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 9700 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3F21EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in CHESTER GAP, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

July 14, 2014

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Goose Creek, SC
Model Focus
System Electrical System
Speed 0

Vehicle Is Equipped With ford‘s ‘automatic/manual Hybrid’ Transmission. Vehicle Began Stuttering About A Month After Purchasing. Purchased Vehicle Brand New In January With 44 Miles On It. When Accelerating From Full Stop, Vehicle Shudders As If There Were Issues With The Air Intake, Fuel, Or Transmission. Took Vehicle Back To Two Separate ford Dealerships (including Where Vehicle Was Purchased) And Was Told That That’s Just How It Runs. Previous Car Was A Manual. Whomever Is Operating The Clutch Under The Hood, Needs A Lesson In Driving! Feels Like Vehicle Is Going To Stall Every Time. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 200 miles. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in GOOSE CREEK, SC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Feb 01, 2014

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Nashville, TN
Model Focus
System Electrical System
Speed

I Purchased A 2014 ford focus Back On April 24, 2014. I Took My Car To Crown ford Service Department For The Second Time On 9/02/14 To Be Service For Shuddering, Loss Of Power, Passenger Window Wouldn’t Let Down, It Rolls Backwards On Incline With Automatic Transmission, And Has This Grinding Noise. ford Was Saying This Is Normal, If This Is The New Normal, Then I Pass On Purchasing A ford. I Feel This Car Is Needing To Be Recall Before There Are More Serious Injuries. I Am 21 Years Old And I Feel This Car Is An Increase Risk For A Accident. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3F25EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in NASHVILLE, TN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. Ford Focus 2014 drive type:FWD.

Sept 02, 2014

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Longmont, CO
Model Focus
System Electrical System
Speed 30

Traction Control Issue…. During Snowstorm , Trying To Drive Up A Hill With A Left Hand Turn , Tires Lost Traction And Car Electronicly Reduced Rpm Speed… Loss Of Speed Almost Sent Car Sideways Into Ditch. Had To Turn Around And Get Run At Hill 4 More Times…. Each Time When Traction With Tires Was Broken …rpms Were Droped To Nothing Leaving Car Stopped Near Stalling In Middle Of Hill. Will Be Dealing With Dealership Soon.. I Feel That The Fix For This Is Going To Be Remove Fuse For Traction Control…..or Disable Traction Control System.. This Car Is A Stick Shift… I Can See How Another 120 Reports On This Page With Auto Transmissions, May Be The Same Issue…..

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 7000 miles. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in LONGMONT, CO. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

Dec 25, 2014

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Sarasota, FL
Model Focus
System Electrical System
Speed

The Car Shudders, Jerks And Slips Out Of Gear … ford Won’t Do It And Let Me Buy The Car Without Saying A Word Even Though They Knew The Hundreds Of Complaints And Lawsuits They Have Had In The Past.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3126EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in SARASOTA, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Mar 21, 2015

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Tipton, IN
Model Focus
System Electrical System
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2014 ford focus. While Accelerating From A Stop, The Engine Stalled Without Warning. The Failure Recurred Numerous Times. The Dealer Diagnosed That The Clutch Failed And Needed To Be Replaced. The Vehicle Was Repaired, But The Failure Recurred. The Manufacturer Was Not Made Aware Of The Failure And The Vin Was Not Included In Nhtsa Campaign Number: 14v495000 (electrical System). The Failure Mileage Was Approximately 2,000. Updated 7/13/15*cn

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 2000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3K2XEL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in TIPTON, IN. Original Owner. Vehicle was purchased on 20140801. Vehicle was using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was using Cruise Control.Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. Ford Focus 2014 drive type:FWD. FUEL SYSTEM:Fuel injection. FUEL TYPE: GAS. Ford Focus 2014 TRANSMISSION TYPE: AUTO. DEALER’S NAME: TIPTON Ford . DEALER’S TELEPHONE NUMBER: 765-675-8777 .

Sept 15, 2014

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Sunnyvale, CA
Model Focus
System Electrical System
Speed 65

Several Times The Sun Roof Intermittently Does Not Close. Once It’s Open, It Will Either Not Stay Open Or Will Not Close At All. It Repeatedly Opens And Closes Over And Over And Stops When The Sun Roof Is Open. Sometimes After 10 Or Twenty Times It Stops At Open Position Or It Will Close. There Is No Way To Close It Unless Trying Over And Over Until It Finally Closes. Sometimes It Will Not Close At All No Matter How Many Times Of Trying And Must Wait Until Some Other Time To Get It To Close. Speed Of Driving Or Weather Conditions Seem Irrelevant To The Condition. It Doesn’t Matter If The Car Is Turned Off And Then Re-started.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 5000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3L99EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in SUNNYVALE, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Oct 01, 2014

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Salem, OR
Model Focus
System Electrical System
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2014 ford focus. While At A Complete Stop On An Incline, The Vehicle Would Sometimes Roll Forwards Or Backwards. In Addition, The Vehicle Would Occasionally Lunge Forward. The Vehicle Would Also Stall And The Lights On The Instrument Panel And The Hazard Lights Would Illuminate. The Vehicle Was Taken To The Dealer Where It Was Diagnosed That The Computer Adaptive Learning Sensor Needed To Be Adjusted. The Failure Recurred. The Manufacturer Was Notified Of The Failures. The Failure Mileage Was 21,000. Ma 10/2

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 21000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3F23EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in SALEM, OR. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

July 02, 2015

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Glenpool, OK
Model Focus
System Electrical System
Speed

When Trying To Accelerate In The Car The Transmission Shudders And Causes The Vehicle To Stall. The Transmission Has Issues Shifting And Causing The Vehicle To Jerk.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 24000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3F24EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in GLENPOOL, OK. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

July 02, 2015

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Indianapolis, IN
Model Focus
System Electrical System
Speed 20

The Contact Owns A 2014 ford focus. While Driving Approximately 20 Mph, The Vehicle Stalled, Jumped A Curb, And Crashed Into A Sign. The Air Bags Did Not Deploy And The Safety Belt Failed To Latch Without Warning. The Vehicle Had To Be Towed To A Body Shop. The Contact Received Notification Of Nhtsa Campaign Number: 15v005000 (electrical System). The Vehicle Was Taken To A Dealer, But It Was Not Diagnosed Due To Not Being Authorized By The Legal Department To Remedy The Recall. The Vehicle Was Not Repaired. The Contact Sustained Two Black Eyes And Currently Has An Umbilical Hernia. The Contact Did Not Require Medical Attention. A Police Report Was Filed. The Approximate Failure Mileage Was 17,000.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 1 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 17000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3K21EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in INDIANAPOLIS, IN. Accident was reported to Police. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

June 26, 2015

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Drakesville, IA
Model Focus
System Electrical System
Speed 10

The Contact Owns A 2014 ford focus. While Driving At 10 Mph, The Vehicle Stalled. The Contact Was Able To Restart The Vehicle After Several Attempts. The Contact Stated The Failure Recurred Several Times. The Vehicle Was Taken To The Dealer For Diagnostic Testing. The Result Was Inconclusive. The Contact Stated That The Fuel Pump Was Replaced; However, The Failure Recurred. The Vehicle Was Not Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Notified Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was 50,000.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 50000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3F2XEL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in DRAKESVILLE, IA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

July 06, 2015

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Manassas Park, VA
Model Focus
System Electrical System
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2014 ford focus. The Contact Stated That While Driving At Any Speed, The Vehicle Jerked Forward And Intermittently Stalled. The Dealer Informed That The Vehicle Was Included In Nhtsa Campaign Number: 14v514000 (steering). The Vehicle Was Repaired Under The Recall But The Failure Reoccurred. The Manufacturer Was Notified Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was 23,000.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 23000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3F21EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in MANASSAS PARK, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

June 18, 2015

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Detroit, MI
Model Focus
System Electrical System
Speed 65

When I Take Off From Being Stopped, My Car Drags With A Vibration. When I Pick Up Speed On The Freeway My Car Slides To The Left And I Lose The Control Of The Steering. My Phone Numbers Have Never Been Able To Be Sync To My Car Because The electrical Part Is Defective. My Tires Light Stays On Off And On. It Feels As If Something Is Getting Loser Under The Rear Of My Car. On Fox 2 News This Morning, They Announced A Recall On ford Car Axles. Today Is October 1, 2015. The Date Of The Last Incident Is Given Below. But I Have Been Having Problems For A While. When I Took My Car To The Dealership About The Light And Tires, They Just Reset It. They Didn’t Take Time To Test Drive It And Really Address My Problems With This Car. I Don’t Want To Have A Accident Or Die In My Car. I Would Like To Get These Problems Taken Care Of.

Mileage was 175000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3F26EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in DETROIT, MI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Sept 30, 2015

Electrical System Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Waynesville, NC
Model Focus
System Electrical System
Speed 60

Vehicle Has Had A Red Fluid Leak For Quite Some Time. The Car Has Been Back To The Dealership For This Issue Many Times And Currently Filing Lemon Law Arbitration. The Car Has Been Out Of Commission For 55 Days Altogether Since It’s Purchase In January This Year Due To The Fluid Leak Which Seems To Be More Of Coolant Than Anything Else. It Is Burning Oil And Or Losing It Somewhere That Isn’t Visible. It Also Has Had electrical Problems With Starting As Well As The Radio Clock And Presets All Resetting After Sitting For More Than 24 Hours. I Have Had To Have The Sunroof Resales After It Had Leaked For Over Two Months And The Dealership Wasn’t Able To Find The Leak. The Front End Makes Horrible Noises When Decelerating. It Grinds And Whines As If Something Is About To Blow Up. I’ve Taken It Into The Dealer For All Of These Concerns And Only One Of Them Has Been Resolved Fully. I’m Very Disappointed In My Purchase.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1fadp3k24el. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in WAYNESVILLE, NC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

Jan 26, 2015

2014 Ford Focus problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Ford Focus, driving a 2014 Ford Focus, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported FordElectrical System problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>