2014 Ford Focus Steering problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 20, 2016.

Rate this post

Ford Focus Steering problems and reviews: 29.

Are you driving a 2014 Ford Focus, or planning to buy one? Review reported Steering problems and defects.

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Lake Forest Park, WA
Model Focus
System Steering
Speed 15

Low Grinding Noise Coming From Front Of Car After Turns, Inclines, Accelerating After A Stop. Sounds Like Aluminum Cans Grinding. Also, Loss Of Power In Car Acceleration For Brief Periods When Driving, Especially When Accelerating On The Freeway To Merge Into Traffic. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 528 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3F21EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in LAKE FOREST PARK, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 15 mph.

Oct 20, 2013

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Youngsville, NC
Model Focus
System Steering
Speed 50

I Bought This Car New 2 Mos Ago , It Has Always Had Weird Steering. As You’re Driving It Gets Very Stiff And ‘”dartey” And It Difficult To Maintain A Straight Line Without Constant Correction And Is Very Sensitive At Higher Speeds, You Change Lanes Quickly And With Little Effort. I Talked To The Service Consultant At The Dealership And He Said They Can Look At It But Haven’t Had Any Complaints,but I See Alot Of Complaints On The Internet. I Feel This Car Is Unsafe And Would Appreciate Your Input, Thank You. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 3400 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3F24EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in YOUNGSVILLE, NC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: HYBRID ELECTRIC. VEHICLE SPEED: 50 mph.

Nov 01, 2013

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Duncan, OK
Model Focus
System Steering
Speed 70

Steering Sometimes Wanders At Highway Speeds When Problem Occurs The Wheels Seem To Wander Left Or Right And Small Corrections Are Needed To Keep The Car Going Straight In The Lane Proper Level Of Correction Is Impossible To Make. As You Correct In One Direction You Now Are Wandering In That Direction. This Causes The Problem To Happen Over And Over Again. The Result Is The Car “ping-ponging” In The Lane Problem Is Intermittent, Problem Is More Pronounced At Higher Speeds Problem Seems To Occur After Driving The Car For 40+ Minutes Problem Is Not “torque Steer”, The Problem Has Nothing To Do With Throttle Input Wind Seems To Be Unrelated To Wandering Sensation Road Surface Quality Seems To Be Unrelated To Issue When Making Minor Corrections On The Highway: If I Attempt Not To Overcompensate Then I Will Veer Too Far In The Direction That The Car Was Wandering In The First Place. You Can’t Not Overcompensate With The Way It Behaves. It’s Like You Either Don’t Compensate At All Or You Overcompensate, Nothing In Between. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3L94EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in DUNCAN, OK. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 70 mph.

Jan 11, 2014

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Gaines, MI
Model Focus
System Steering
Speed 60

The Car Was Scary To Drive On The Highway With Uncontrollable Swaying Had To White Knuckle The Steering Wheel With Compensation Of Darty Movements! Brought To The Dealer They Align It 3 Times Got Better But Still No Complete Reward. Then ford Said Replace The Steering Gear ! Test Drove Home With Mi Snow On The Roads Wow Was It Scary To Drive It Home Extra Darting Fish Tail Experience. Since Last Repair It Seems To Getting Bad Again 11000 Mile Later While Driving On Bumpy Roads It Darts Bad And Sway Steering ! I Believe Its A Comb Of Programming Issue Of Steering Gear And Rack And Roll Control !!! Next Will Need Engineer To Look At It! *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 500 miles. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in GAINES, MI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

Aug 23, 2013

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Worden, MT
Model Focus
System Steering
Speed 20

While Driving On Snow Covered Roads The Wheel Wells For The Car Became Packed With Snow And Ice. The Clearance Of The Vehicle Did Not Allow For Being Able To Clear The Buildup. Steering Was Very Difficult And The Snow And Ice Build Up Was Rubbing On All The Tires. Even After Placing The Vehicle In A Garage I Was Only Able To Clear The Front Wheel Wells, The Rear Wheel Wells Have A Felt Type Lining That Sticks In The Snow And Ice So It Cannot Be Removed And Rubs On The Tires Decreasing The Handling Of The Vehicle. I Contacted The Dealer And They Said They Do Not Have Any Suggestions. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1200 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3K23EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in WORDEN, MT. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Feb 24, 2014

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Houston, TX
Model Focus
System Steering
Speed

Purchased A 2014 ford focus Se On January 4, 2014 And Have Had Problems Since Driving It Off The Dealership Parking Lot. When Driving The Vehicle, The Steering Wheel Bounces Or Sways Back And Forth. The Feel Is Similar To When It Is Windy And The Car Is Caught In An Air Gust. When Driving Any Distance Or A Speed Over 10 Mph, The Driver Must Hold Onto The Steering Wheel To Keep The Car In The Lane Of Traffic. The Steering Wheel Sways One Way And Once You Correct It Is Necessary To Correct The Opposite Way. The Car Is Driven To And From Work Approximately 17 Miles One Day Daily. By The Time I Arrive At Work Or Home My Hands Hurt From Holding The Steering Wheel So Tightly. Prior To The Third Visit To The Service Department For The Steering Issue, A New Problem Arose. After Breaking To Stop The Car, I Lifted My Foot Off Of The Break, The Vehicle Accelerated Forward Fast Enough To Squeal The Tires. Applied The Break Again, Stopped, Removed Foot To Accelerate And Car Accelerated On Its Own Again. This Is Becoming An Ongoing Issue. As Of April 9, 2014 The Vehicle Has Been In At The ford Dealership Four Times, Each Time To Be Told There No Problems Can Be Found With The Car. It Drives The Same As Every Other Vehicle Of The Same Make Per The Dealership. I’ve Barely Missed Hitting The Center Barrier On The Freeway, Taking Out The Side Of A Delivery Truck, Accelerated Forward At A Dangerous Speed In Heavy Traffic, And The Steering Is Progressively Getting Worse. This Car Is Unsafe For The Public Highway. ford Continues To Say There Is No Problem With The Car. Afraid To Drive The Vehicle In Fear Of Hurting Another Driver Or Myself. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 734 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3K28EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in HOUSTON, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS.

Jan 22, 2014

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Edgecomb, ME
Model Focus
System Steering
Speed 60

Driving My New focus Is A Challenge, Especially On The Highway,keeping The Car In A Straight Line. The Car Wanders In Either Direction, Demanding A Constant Grip On The Steering Wheel To Keep It Going In A Straight Line. When The Car Drifts Left Or Right, And You Slightly Steer To Correct, It Darts In The Other Direction. This Is Very Scary Driving On The Highway Especially When There Are Cars On Either Side Of You. The Service Dept At My Dealership Claims There Is Nothing Wrong. The Sales Dept. Wants To Take The Car In For Trade At A Discount Of $3500 And I Have Owned The Car A Month! I Have Driven 3 Other focuses, Same Tires, Etc And They Track Straight Without The Constant Correction/overcorrection Issue. Advice? I See Others Have Experienced This Same Issue Stressful And Unsafe! Why Should I Lose This Kind Of Money, Or Accept This On A New Vehicle, When This Is Not A Problem I Have Created?! *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 50 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3K24EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in EDGECOMB, ME. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

Apr 14, 2014

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Louisville, KY
Model Focus
System Steering
Speed 35

There Were Four Incidents On My Brand New 2014 ford focus Leading Up To Complete Electric Power Assist Steering Failure. I Bought The Car New On A Saturday Evening. I Drove It Everyday Since Then. I Drove It About 100 Miles Saturday Night, Then Another 100 On Sunday. Monday Afternoon I Left For Work. My Drive Consists Of About Two Miles From My Residence To The Expressway Then 18 Miles Highway And Less Than A Mile To The Parking Lot Off The Exit. As I Got Off The Exit I Got Into The Left Turning Lane Which Crosses Two Sets Of Railroad Tracks And Takes A Long Swooping Left Hand Turn To A Light. Then The Parking Lot Is About A Half Mile Up On The Right. Accelerating Over The Tracks And In Mid Turn The Steering Assist Fault Service Required Warning Light Illuminated In The Information Box On The Cluster. I Had No Power Steering Up Until I Got In The Parking Lot, Turned The Vehicle Off, Opened The Door, Waited A Minute, Then Started The Car Back And It Reset. Then Two Days Later, Wednesday, The Same Scenario Repeated Itself And Once Again On Friday. Then Saturday Evening I Drove The Car To A Restaurant For Dinner About 25 Miles From The House, Mostly Highway, With No Issues. Once We Left The Restaurant And Got Back Into Town The Steering Failed Accelerating Around A Turn From A Stop Light About 10 Miles From The Restaurant. Once We Arrived At The Ice Cream Parlor And Then Left Again, It Reset. We Left The Parlor And About 10 Miles From The Parlor I Stopped At A Red Light, Went To Accelerate From The Light, Did Not Turn In Either Direction, Drive Path Was Straight, And Noticed The Warning Light Appear Again With No Power Steering The Rest Of The Way Home. Once We Arrived Home I Assumed That It Would Reset, However The Next Morning (sunday) I Went To Start It And The First Thing That Popped Up Was The Warning Light Again And I Haven’t Had Power Steering Since Then. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 220 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3K27EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in LOUISVILLE, KY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

May 19, 2014

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Potterville, MI
Model Focus
System Steering
Speed 25

Power Steering Light Came On As I Was Driving And Totally Went Out. I Could Barely Control The Car Enough To Turn The Corner To Take It To The Dealership. This Is A Brand New Vehicle With Less That 4000 Miles On It And The Dealership Refuses To Honor The Warranty. This Is Dangerous And Should Not Happen On A Brand New Vehicle. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 3300 miles. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in POTTERVILLE, MI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

June 25, 2014

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Travelers Rest, SC
Model Focus
System Steering
Speed

Transmission Jerks And Grinds At 2200rpm In First Gear, Grinding Noise While Going Up Hills, Transmission Shakes And Jerks When Shifting From First To Second, Very Rough And Unpredictable Shifts, Shifts Into Higher Gears Way To Soon Then Will Downshift Or Go Into Neutral, Hesitation And Vibration From Launch, Transmission Slips At Random And Will Not Downshift , Transmission Surges Under Acceleration ….steering Seems To Have A Mind Of It’s Own When Turning On To Street The Steering Wheel Wants To Stay In Whatever Position You Have It Turned And Is Very Hard To Keep Straight On Highway..rattling Noise Like Something Is Loose Coming From Front Passenger Area When Going Over Bumps Or While Sitting At Idle It Can Be Heard Has Been To The Shop Three Time S For Rattling Noise And It Is Still Not Fixed And Has Been In The Shop For The Transmission Four Times And Every Time They Tell Me The Don’t Experience It Or It’s Just The Way It Is Or That I Am Driving The Car Wrong…i Have A Wife And A Three Year Old And I Am Terrified For Then To Be In The Car. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3F20EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in TRAVELERS REST, SC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS.

Feb 01, 2014

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Palatka, FL
Model Focus
System Steering
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2014 ford focus. The Contact Stated That While Driving At Various Speeds, The Vehicle Would Swerve To The Left Or Right Making The Vehicle Difficult To Maneuver. The Vehicle Was Not Diagnosed Or Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Not Notified Of The Failure. The Vin Was Not Available. The Failure Mileage Was 1,200.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1200 miles. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in PALATKA, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

June 02, 2014

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Palatka, FL
Model Focus
System Steering
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2014 ford focus. The Contact Stated That While Driving At Various Speeds, The Vehicle Would Swerve To The Left Or Right Making The Vehicle Difficult To Maneuver. The Vehicle Was Not Diagnosed Or Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Not Notified Of The Failure. The Vin Was Not Available. The Failure Mileage Was 1,200.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1200 miles. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in PALATKA, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

May 01, 2014

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Brookline, MA
Model Focus
System Steering
Speed 65

I Noted That The Vehicle Was Not “tracking” Well On Highways At The Recommended Cruising Speed Of 65 Mph. The Vehicle Appears To “drift” From Left To Right Within The Lane In Which We Are Traveling. This Requires Constant Attention And Concentration In Controlling The Position Of The Steering Wheel In Order To Keep The Car Going In A Straight Line. It Is Less Noticeable As The Highway Curves In Either The Right Of Left Direction. One Gets The Impression That There Is Far Too Much “play” In The Steering Wheel/column Relative To The Front Wheel Drive Train Mechanism. In Addition, The Problem Seems Exaggerated During Higher Wind Velocities. I Asked My Wife To Drive The Car And She Too Noticed The Problem. I Questioned The Service Manager At The Dealership, At The Time Of My First Scheduled Service Appointment, And Asked If They Could Drive The Car And “tighten” The Steering Wheel To Reduce The “play” In It. He Told Me That The Test Drive Was Pretty Normal, That There Was No Way To Adjust The Steering Mechanism And That The “sport” Set-up For This Particular Model Results In That “feel” During Driving. As An Experienced Driver Of 56 Years Who Has Owned Numerous Automobiles, Including Some Rather High End Sport Cars, This Explanation Made Absolutely No Sense What-so-ever. He Offered Me The Opportunity To Test Drive A Different Vehicle Of The Same Model Type, But I Declined As I Saw No Point To The Exercise. I Had Seen An Investigative Report On The Abc National News Presented By [xxx] Relative To Reported Problems By Others In This Regard. Upon Accessing This Sight, I Found That There Are Reports About This Particular Problem. My Purpose In Submitting This Narrative Is To Place On The Record A Possible Problem With This ford Product In The Event That Someone Is Injured As A Result Of The Steering Problem. Information Redacted Pursuant To The Freedom Of Information Act (foia), 5 U.s.c. 552(b)(6). *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 200 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3N21EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in BROOKLINE, MA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Feb 26, 2014

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Aliso Viejo, CA
Model Focus
System Steering
Speed

2014 ford focus. Consumer Writes In Regards To Steering Wheel Malfunction And Requests Vehicle Compensation. *smd The Consumer Stated Two Days After The Vehicle Was Purchased, The Steering Malfunctioned As She Was Parallel Parking On A Busy Road. *jb

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3K21EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in ALISO VIEJO, CA. Original Owner. Vehicle was purchased on 20140714. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. Ford Focus 2014 drive type:FWD. FUEL SYSTEM:Fuel injection. FUEL TYPE: GAS. DEALER’S NAME: VILLA Ford .

July 16, 2014

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Greenville, SC
Model Focus
System Steering
Speed 70

His Is A focus St. Unable To Make Small Steering Corrections At Speed. It’s As If There Is A “notch” In The Center Of The Steering. A Small Correction Becomes A Large One Causing The Vehicle To Veer Across The Road. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3L96EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in GREENVILLE, SC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 70 mph.

Jan 15, 2014

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Hoosick Falls, NY
Model Focus
System Steering
Speed 50

The Steering Is Very Responsive – There Is No Center On The Steering. You Move The Steering Wheel 1/4″ And The Car Will Move. When You Are Traveling You Need To Constantly Correct The Steering And Are Often Going Back And Forth In Your Lane. You Can’t Take Your Eye Off The Road For A Second Or You Will Be Off The Road Or In The Opposite Lane. I Glanced Over To The Passenger Window To See How Far It Was Down And I Almost Hit A Stone Wall On The Right Side Of The Road. My Husband Glanced Down To See The Cruise Control Buttons And When He Looked Back Up He Was 3′ Across The Center Line. Neither Time Did We Have Our Eyes Off The Road For More Than 1 Second. When You Are Traveling At Higher Speeds The Handling Is Worse – On The Mass Pike Or Garden State Parkway You Have To Fight It All The Time. If You Are Changing Lanes You Need To Be Very Careful Because When You Take Your Eyes Off The Road To Check Your Side Mirrors Before Changing The Car Will Often Cross Into One Lane Or The Other. When You Pull Out To Pass On A 2 Lane Road You Better Have 2 Hands On The Wheel Or You Will Lose Control – The Same Goes If You Need To Get On The Brakes Hard. The Car Has A Mind Of Its Own And If You Don’t Have Two Hands On The Wheel You Are Liable To End Up Hitting Another Vehicle Or Going Off The Road. I Have Taken It To My ford Dealer And They Drove It. They Didn’t Notice Anything, But When You Drive 40 Miles Roundtrip To Work Everyday You Notice It. They Did Check For Recalls, Etc And Couldn’t Find Anything. The Longer The Trip The Worse It Is. I Traded In A 2012 focus For This Car And Am I Ever Sorry I Did. I Can’t Wait For The 3 Year Lease To Be Up And Just Pray I Don’t Hurt Someone Because Of The Handling. We Have Searched The Internet And Have Found Numerous Other Complaints Exact Or Very Similar To Mine And They Are All Having To Do With The 2014 focus.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 400 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3J23EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in HOOSICK FALLS, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 50 mph.

Aug 09, 2014

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Hagerstown, MD
Model Focus
System Steering
Speed 10

While Pulling Over To The Side Of The Road The Power Steering Stopped Working. An Alarm Chimed But No Information Displayed. I Was Only Able To Steer The Vehicle Using All Of My Strength And My Husband Had To Drive It Home. The Next Day The Steering Was Back To Normal. The Second Time Was During A K Turn. It Was Incredibly Difficult To Maneuver Out Of The Turn But Once The Vehicle Was Driving Straight The Steering Returned. No Alarm Or Information Displayed. The Third Time Was Turning Out Of A Parking Lot. An Alarm Chimed And “steering Assist Failure” Displayed. Fortunately I Was Close To A Dealership And Able To Steer It There As I Would Not Have Had The Strength To Steer It Home Through Town And Would Not Have Wanted To Risk Trying It On The Interstate. I’m Waiting To Find Out What They Will Say. I Have Already Had To Have The Transmission Replaced Due To Hesitation Of Acceleration When The Gas Is Pressed.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 19000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3F29EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in HAGERSTOWN, MD. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Oct 23, 2014

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Converse, TX
Model Focus
System Steering
Speed 2

When Trying To Accelerate From A Stop, Car Shutters. It Can Happen With Using No Force On The Gas Or Using Full Force On The Gas. Car Shutters And Even Makes A Rattling Noise.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 12000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3F24EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in CONVERSE, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 2 mph.

May 01, 2014

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Granville, OH
Model Focus
System Steering
Speed 35

The Steering Is Very Dangerous And Will Cause An Accident. There Is No Centering The Wheel, It Constantly Drifts Back And Forth Left And Right, On It’s Own With Flat Straight Road And Perfect Straight Line Of Sight. The Steering Is Too Sensitive, If I Move The Steering Wheel Just A Slight Amount It Over Corrects And Continues To Moves The Car. The Drive Must Constantly Course Correct Or I Will Veer Off The Road Right/left Or Hit Another Car In Either Lane, The Problem Is Multiplied Several Times Over When Travelling At Highway Speeds. Searching The Internet I See Several Other Complaints From 2014 focus Owners And Am Quite Shocked This Issue Has Not Been Escalated And Fixed By ford, The New Electric Steering Is Not Working And A Safety Hazard To Any Driver. I Had The Car In The Mathews ford Collision Shop To Repair A Hit To The Front End From A Deer, And Reported The Steering Issue. They Acted Like They Had No Idea What I Was Reporting And Recommended A Front End Alignment. I Told Them They Needed To Drive The Car And Would Feel And Experience The Problem. I Picked The Car Up Last Week And They Said The Steering Computer Was Reset And Re-calibrated, And The Front End Alignment Was Done. As Soon As I Left And Was Driving It Was Actually Worse Than Before And When I Traveled On The Highway 2 Days Later It Was Very Pronounced With Very Little Wind That Day. I Went Back To Mathews Today And Had One Of Their Estimators Drive The Car With Me In It And He Absolutely Agreed And Said The Car Drifted Left And Right On Its Own, Like The Old Fashioned Cars That Run At Amusement Parks.they Are Supposed To Contact Me Once They Talk To The Repair Shop And Then I Started Researching On The Internet And Was Shocked That This Is A Known Problem, So Decided To File This Complaint. This Car Was Manufactured February 2014 And Currently Has Only 10,000 Miles.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 8700 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3F22EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in GRANVILLE, OH. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Feb 02, 2015

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Baytown, TX
Model Focus
System Steering
Speed 15

2 Weeks Ago The Car Lost Power Steering While Backing Out Of The Driveway. There Was Not An Accident At That Time. Today 5-31-15 While Traveling Through A Small Curve On A Neighborhood Street, The Car Suddenly Lost Power Steering Again And Caused My Daughter To Strike A Brick Mail Box. Luckily, She Is Okay. The Car Has Sustained Significant Damage And Will Have To Have Body Work. When This Happened I Started To Look To See If There Were Any Recalls For This And Saw That The ford focus Is Not Included In The Recall, However It Is Included In A Class Action Law Suit Because Of ford‘s Failure To Acknowledge And Handle The Problem With The Power Steering. I Have Photographs Of The Damage And Am Willing To Provide Them To You If Necessary.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 28000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3F20EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in BAYTOWN, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 15 mph.

May 16, 2015

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
National City, CA
Model Focus
System Steering
Speed

The 2014 ford focus Se. My Mom And I Traded In Another Vehicle For This Car. It Was Working Fine At The First 3 Months Of Having It, But Then After The Second Month, The Transmission On This Car Started To Fail. It Would Start To Shutter And Cause You To Have Problems Accelerating Trying To Keep Up With The Car Ahead Of Me After Each Full Stop, Or During Traffic Hours On A Freeway/highway. This Vehicle Also Had A Problem When I Was Just Barely Getting On The Freeway I Tried Pushing The Gas Peddles To Reach 65mph, But For Some Questionable Reason The Gears Were Having Trouble Switching And As I Look At The Meter Gage It Showed 50mph. I Push More On The Gas Peddle To Get More Speed And It Would Not Move Higher Than 55mph. For Some Appearent Reason It Stayed Stuck At 50-55mph. I’m Quite Disappointed On The Dealers Who Sold Us The Car Which They Knew The Issue Of These Particular Vehicles, And Also The Manufacturers Who Have Cause Concern For Who Ever Had Bought This Type Of Vehicle. I Would Appreciate If They Would Just Recall Any ford focus Or Any Other Vehicles That Have Such Malfunctioning. America Is Suppose To Be At The Top, But What’s Going On With This Issue That Needs To Be Resolved. I’m Was Born In The Philippines, But I Was Raise In The Usa. I Always Thought The Us Was One Top Notch Place To Live. America Is The Life And I Expect Alot From Thee Higher Up’s/bosses.. For Sure Though, Safety First For All Vehicles Designed And Created And Manufactured Here In America Or Wherever They Got Their Vehicles.. This Place Is One Great Place To Live. We Should Live Up Towards True Future Expectations Of Any Type Of Crucial Designs Of What So Ever Or Some Sort. America Lets Step Up The Richter Scale Of Exclusiveness. God Bless To All With Peace And Respect Always.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3F25EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in NATIONAL CITY, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

June 22, 2015

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Princeton, MA
Model Focus
System Steering
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2014 ford focus. After Starting The Engine, The Message Steering Assist Failure Displayed On The Instrument Panel And The Steering Wheel Became Extremely Difficult To Turn. The Vehicle Was Towed To The Dealer Where It Was Diagnosed That The Failure Was Due To A Faulty Electrical Connection In The Steering Column. The Manufacturer Was Notified Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was 15,500.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 15500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3N27EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in PRINCETON, MA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

May 28, 2015

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Princeton, MA
Model Focus
System Steering
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2014 ford focus. After Starting The Engine, The Message Steering Assist Failure Warning Message Displayed On The Instrument Panel And The Steering Wheel Became Extremely Difficult To Turn. The Vehicle Was Towed To The Dealer, Who Diagnosed That The Cause Of The Failure Was Due To A Faulty Electrical Connection In The Steering Column. The Manufacturer Was Notified Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was 15,500. Updated 09/14/15*lj

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 15500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3N27EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in PRINCETON, MA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

May 01, 2015

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Badger, MN
Model Focus
System Steering
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2014 ford focus. While Attempting To Reverse At A Low Speed, The Steering Wheel Became Difficult To Turn. The Contact Had To Apply Force To The Steering Wheel In Order To Steer The Vehicle And The Message Steering Assist Failure, Service Required Was Displayed Across The Message Board. The Vehicle Was Taken To A Dealer Who Diagnosed That The Steering Gear Needed To Be Replaced. The Vehicle Was Not Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Notified Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was 38,000.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 38000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3F27EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in BADGER, MN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

July 18, 2015

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
League City, TX
Model Focus
System Steering
Speed

There Was A Cracking/popping Sound Coming From The Front Passenger Side Of The Vehicle. It Has Been In And Out Of The Dealership For 2 Weeks Now (08/18/2015) But They Have Not Been Able To Fix It. They Told Me That They Replaced The “rack” But That The Vehicle Still Had The Same Steering Problems. This Is After They Replaced The Clutches Again In This Vehicle. After Doing Some Research I Found That There Seems To Be A Problem With The Epas (electric Power Assisted Steering) In These Cars. This Car Has Major Problems.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 19000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3K20EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in LEAGUE CITY, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

June 01, 2015

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Charlottesville, VA
Model Focus
System Steering
Speed 5

I Drove 200 Miles, Stopped For Gas, And Upon Starting The Engine There Was A Warning Light And A Loss Of Power Steering. I Drove To A Hotel, Unloaded Our Luggage, And Returned To The Car After 10 Minutes. Upon Starting The Engine, I Found That The Warning Light Was Out And The Power Steering Was Normal. Ten Days Later, The Same Thing Happened; That Is, I Drove 200 Miles, Stopped For Gas, Lost The Power Steering, Went To A Hotel, And Upon Starting The Engine The Power Steering Had Returned. Without Power Steering, The Car Was Controllable But It Was Not Easy And A Frail Person Would Have Difficulty.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 6000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3F23EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

Aug 15, 2015

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Rockford, MI
Model Focus
System Steering
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2014 ford focus. After The Vehicle Was Started, The Steering Wheel Became Difficult To Maneuver Without Warning. The Vehicle Was Taken To A Dealer Where The Technician Stated That The Vehicle Was Operating As Designed. The Manufacturer Was Not Notified Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was 8,000.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 8000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3N24EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in ROCKFord, MI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Apr 04, 2015

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Detroit, MI
Model Focus
System Steering
Speed 65

When I Take Off From Being Stopped, My Car Drags With A Vibration. When I Pick Up Speed On The Freeway My Car Slides To The Left And I Lose The Control Of The Steering. My Phone Numbers Have Never Been Able To Be Sync To My Car Because The Electrical Part Is Defective. My Tires Light Stays On Off And On. It Feels As If Something Is Getting Loser Under The Rear Of My Car. On Fox 2 News This Morning, They Announced A Recall On ford Car Axles. Today Is October 1, 2015. The Date Of The Last Incident Is Given Below. But I Have Been Having Problems For A While. When I Took My Car To The Dealership About The Light And Tires, They Just Reset It. They Didn’t Take Time To Test Drive It And Really Address My Problems With This Car. I Don’t Want To Have A Accident Or Die In My Car. I Would Like To Get These Problems Taken Care Of.

Mileage was 175000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3F26EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in DETROIT, MI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Sept 30, 2015

Steering Ford 2014
Ford
Location
Purcellville, VA
Model Focus
System Steering
Speed 65

2014 ford focus With 78*** Miles. Electronic Power Steering Failed While Driving At Speed On The Highway. Steering Was Very Difficult To Use, Far More Difficult Than A Hydraulic Vehicle With A Power Steering Failure. It Felt As If Something Was Locked Up Inside The Steering Column. Car Was Unsafe To Drive.

Mileage was 78517 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FADP3F28EL. Ford Focus 2014 problem was reported in PURCELLVILLE, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Sept 20, 2015

2014 Ford Focus problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Ford Focus, driving a 2014 Ford Focus, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported FordSteering problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>