2015 Ford Explorer Engine problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 20, 2016.

Rate this post

Ford Explorer Engine problems and reviews: 10.

Are you driving a 2015 Ford Explorer, or planning to buy one? Review reported Engine problems and defects.

Engine Ford 2015
Ford
Location
San Jose, CA
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed

Purchased A Brand New 2015 ford explorer. Almost Immediately Began Smelling Exhaust Fumes. Concerned That This Wasn’t “new Car Break-in”, I Purchased A Carbon Monoxide Detector With Memory. Over A Couple Of Weeks Of Driving The Detector Registered 97 Ppm At Peak. After Checking On The Internet, I Found Others That Have Had A Similar Problem.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 30 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8GT6FG. Ford Explorer 2015 problem was reported in SAN JOSE, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Jan 27, 2014

Engine Ford 2015
Ford
Location
Lisbon, NH
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed

We Have Also Encountered Exhaust Fumes In The Vehicle. On Long Trips We Have Also Experienced Fatigue Dizziness And Nausea. When We Go On The Trips We Have A Sheltie Which Comes With Us, And He Has Not Looked Good At Times Also. So On A Trip Today 7-7-2015 We Brought Along A Co Detector, On The Way Down For The Hr Trip The Level Was @ 81. That’s With The Ac On With Temps Outside @ 82. On The Way Back From Are Hr Trip With Temps Still In The 80’s The Co Level Was @ 183. If You Look At The Cpsc.gov Website You Can See That @ The Levels Of 150-220 It Will Cause Disorientation / Unconsciousness & Death!!!!!!!!!!!! So @ This Point In Our Lives In Our 50’s We Do Not Want To Die. We Will Be Asking ford To Take Our Explore Xlt Limited Back Before We Die. It Only Has 4200 K On It. I’m Only Hoping ford Will Take This Matter Seriously.we Will Be Contacting ford Tomorrow 7-8-2015 To File A Formal Complaint To Address This Problem, So Others Don’ T Have To Deal With The Co.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 4200 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8F85FG. Ford Explorer 2015 problem was reported in LISBON, NH. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Feb 25, 2015

Engine Ford 2015
Ford
Location
Emerald Isle, NC
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed 70

Exhaust Smell Enters Cabin Under Hard Acceleration

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 2800 miles. Ford Explorer 2015 problem was reported in EMERALD ISLE, NC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 70 mph.

July 11, 2015

Engine Ford 2015
Ford
Location
Lisbon, NH
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed 65

A Follow Up On A Co Problem, That Happened On 7/7/15. Dealer Took The explorer In On The Co Issue Along With ford Knowing Of It. Gave Us A Rental For A Week, And Came Up With No Co Levels After A Week. Went To The Dealership To Take A Ride With The Service Manager, Exhaust Was Present But He Said It Was A Hot Engine Smell. No Levels Where Found But Symptoms In My Body Of Co Where Indicated While The Service Manager Was In The Vehicle. Left The Vehicle For The Day And Was Told By ford The Service Manager Found Nothing Wrong And To Come Get The Vehicle. Upon The Ride Home My Co Detector Indicated Levels At 534ppm. With The Windows Down And The Sun Roof Open At 70mph. Along The Way I Stopped In The Local Hospital, Waited An Hour In A Half For Blood Work Then Walked Out. Had To Get Back To Work. Only 15 Minutes Back Home The Levels Went Up To 871ppm. Calling The Dealership And ford In The Am To Get This Problem Solved Asap Before Some Dies. 2015 With Only 4,500 Miles. ford Has Known Of This Problem Since 2011.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 4514 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8F85FG. Ford Explorer 2015 problem was reported in LISBON, NH. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

July 22, 2015

Engine Ford 2015
Ford
Location
Torrance, CA
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed 65

I Purchased A Brand New 2015 ford explorer Xlt, 3.5 V6, In November 2014. At Approximately 7,000 Miles (beginning In April 2015) I Started To Notice A Rotten Egg Odor Inside The Vehicle During Acceleration, While Entering The Freeway. The Smell Would Occur Especially During A Hard Acceleration. The Smell Was Noticeable While The A/c System Was On “vent” And “recirculate” Mode. On 7/6/2015 I Took The explorer To My ford Dealership And They Acknowledged The Complaint And Stated There Was A Service Bulletin 14-130 To Correct The Problem. Their Description On The Fix, Was That A Special Air-filter Located Inside The Rear Bumper Area Needed To Be Replace. They Stated That The Smell Is Coming From My Evap-canister. I Left The explorer There For The Repair And It Took Them Almost Two Days. They Said, It Was At Least A Full Days Labor To Fix The Problem Because They Had To Remove The Whole Rear Bumper And Other Parts, Etc. After The Repair Was Made, A Week Later, I Was Able To Take The explorer On The Freeway And Still Noticed The Rotten Egg Odor During Acceleration. This Time The Odor Is Only Noticeable During “vent” Mode When The A/c Is Turned On. I Am Contacting My Dealer Today About This. I Am Very Concerned About This Issue With Other ford Owners Because These “fumes” In The Cabin Area Most Likely Are Affecting Your Health And Other Passengers.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 8000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7D89FG. Ford Explorer 2015 problem was reported in TORRANCE, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Apr 14, 2015

Engine Ford 2015
Ford
Location
Fort Myers, FL
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed 70

On Acceleration Getting Exhaust Fumes In Cabin ( Bad Fumes ) Talked To Dealer And Was Told Accelerate Slow Great Words For Problem Have Found This Is Not A New Problem With The explorer Is Anything Being Done On This Issue.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 5000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7D88FG. Ford Explorer 2015 problem was reported in FORT MYERS, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 70 mph.

July 25, 2015

Engine Ford 2015
Ford
Location
Virginia Beach, VA
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed 55

During Harder Than Normal Acceleration, There Is A Very Powerful Sulfur (rotten Egg Smell) That Fills The Cabin. The Smell Id So Powerful That You Cannot Stay More Than 10 Mins In The Car Without Being Sick

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 900 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8GT0FG. Ford Explorer 2015 problem was reported in VIRGINIA BEACH, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

Aug 01, 2015

Engine Ford 2015
Ford
Location
Warren, OR
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed 45

Driving Home Up A Hill With A Newly Purchased 2015 ford explorer My Wife And I Noticed A Bad Smell Like Exhaust Fumes; We Put This Down To The New Engine/exhaust Burning Off Any Factory Grease Etc. Subsequent Trips With All Of My Family In The Suv We All Experienced A Foul Exhaust And Sulfur Smell When Going Up A Hill Or Accelerating Above 3k Rpm; There Were No Other Vehicles In Front Of Us To Blame For The Odor. We Have Taken The Suv To The Dealer 4 Times Now And They In Conjuction With ford Technical Support Cannot Find The Root Cause. They Have Replaced/ Installed: Egr Valve Cover (tech Bulletin), Both Exhaust Down Pipes, Front Transfer Case. The Dealer Has No Test Equipment To Find The Problem Or Confirm We Are Smelling Engine Exhaust Containing Toxic Gases Including Co.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 20 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8D8XFG. Ford Explorer 2015 problem was reported in WARREN, OR. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

Apr 12, 2015

Engine Ford 2015
Ford
Location
Milford, DE
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed 55

The Contact Owns A 2015 ford explorer. While The Vehicle Was Idling, There Was A Smell Of Sulfur Inside The Vehicle. While Driving Approximately 55 Mph, The Sulfur Smell Emitted Into The Vehicle From The Vents. The Failure Recurred Multiple Times. The Vehicle Was Taken To A Dealer Where The Mechanic Resealed The Cabins And Cleaned The Vents. The Manufacturer Was Not Notified Of The Failure. The Approximate Failure Mileage Was 4,600.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 4600 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7D83FG. Ford Explorer 2015 problem was reported in MILFord, DE. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

Sept 01, 2015

Engine Ford 2015
Ford
Location
Orlando, FL
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed 70

When Performing A Hard Acceleration Entering The Interstate Or Quickly Maneuvering Around Another Vehicle, There Is A Strange Odor That Comes Through The Vents. Smells Like Exhaust. This Both When The Windows Are Up And The A/c Is On Or If Widows Are Down And A/c Turned Off. The Smell Lasts A Few Seconds Before Going Away. I’m Concerned About The Long Term Effects Of This On Personal Health. My 2015 explorer Is Currently At ford Being Checked Out. I’ve Been Told There Is A Tsb Out On This Issue, But They Don’t Know How To Repair It. Waiting On Some Kind Of Positive Outcome At This Point.

Mileage was 7600 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8GT1FG. Ford Explorer 2015 problem was reported in ORLANDO, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 70 mph.

Oct 09, 2015

2015 Ford Explorer problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Ford Explorer, driving a 2015 Ford Explorer, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported FordEngine problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>