2015 Ford Explorer Unknown Or Other problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 20, 2016.

Rate this post

Ford Explorer Unknown Or Other problems and reviews: 18.

Are you driving a 2015 Ford Explorer, or planning to buy one? Review reported Unknown Or Other problems and defects.

Unknown Or Other Ford 2015
Ford
Location
Lexington Park, MD
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 55

I Was Driving Yesterday And A Message Popped Up “terrain Management System Fault” And Then All Of A Sudden, A Check Brakes Message Showed, Leaving The Brake Indicator, Abs Message Saying It Is Off And An “awd Off” Message. This Happened Repeatedly Even After Turning The Car Off For Hours And Restarting. Pictures Were Taken Of The Messages And It Was Dropped At The Service Department Of The Local ford Dealership. They Originally Thought It Was A Bad Abs Sensor, But Upon Further Investigation, Something Is Really Wrong In The Computer And Some Other Modules, They Did Not Even Give Us A Time Frame For Completion. This Is Next Years Model And We Have Only Owned It For 1 Month, Not A Good Sign. Not Sure If Other People Are Having This Issue, But They Might Soon. The Dealership Would Also Not Say If It Was/is Dangerous To Drive With All Of The Errors Popping Up.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 3000 miles. Ford Explorer 2015 problem was reported in LEXINGTON PARK, MD. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

Dec 14, 2014

Unknown Or Other Ford 2015
Ford
Location
Wall, NJ
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 60

Upon Acceleration My 2015 ford explorer Xlt Has Exhaust Fumes Entering Into The Vehicle. It Happens When I Accerate With The Ac/heater In The Off Mode.you Can Also Smell Fumes With The Ac/heater On Both In The Recirulate And Non Rec Modes. I Have Already Had The Vehicle In The ford Shop Twice With This Problem And A Tsb Was Performed With No Improvements. ford Crc Stated To Drive The Vehicle With The Heat/ac Always On To Presserize The Cabin To Keep Fumes From Coming In. The Owners Manual States If You Smell Exhaust Fumes In The Cabin, Do Not Drive The Vehicle. ford Has No Answer To This Issue.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8D84FG. Ford Explorer 2015 problem was reported in WALL, NJ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

Dec 05, 2014

Unknown Or Other Ford 2015
Ford
Location
Ramona, CA
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 55

When I Purchased The 2015 explorer I Drove It Off The Lot And Up A Hill To Go Home. As Soon As We Started Up The Hill The Car Filled With An Acrid, Smoky Smell. The Kids And I Pulled Over Because We Thought There Was Something Wrong. My Husband Said It Was Just “breaking The Car In” Smell. Please Note I Have Had New Cars Before And Never Smelled Something This Bad. So My Husband Drove It Home While The Kids And I Took The Truck. Since That Time The Acrid, Smoky Smell Happens Every Time The Car Is Cold And Then I Go Up A Hill. The Engine Is Accelerating And Working Hard. I Will Have To Pay More Attention To The Rpms At The Time. At The Top Of The Hill I Smell The “smoke Smell.” This Happens Daily On A Hill I Travel To Go To Work. I Thought That Over Time The Smell Would Go Away. Now I Have 10,000 Miles On The Car And It Is 8 Months Later And The Smell Is Still There. Took It To The Dealership Where I Bought It At The 2,000 Mile Mark And They Claimed They Did Not Smell The Acrid Smell. I Am Now Taking It In Again. Very Disappointed.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 0 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7F84FG. Ford Explorer 2015 problem was reported in RAMONA, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

July 25, 2014

Unknown Or Other Ford 2015
Ford
Location
Mound, MN
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 60

Horrible Rotten Egg, Burning Smell When Accelerating In The Cabin. Have Taken It In 3 Times And They Tell Me It Will Burn Off Between 10-15000 Miles. I Can’t Imagine That The Fumes In The Cabin Are Good For Me And My Family And The Lack Of Concern From ford Is Laughable. We Have Contacted ford With Minimal, Unhelpful Responses From Them. Along With Health Concerns, The Smell Coming Out Of The Exhaust Is Awful And Probably Should Be Brought To The Epa. I Attempted To Drive 2 New 2015 Straight Of The Train And They Both Were Just As Bad. This Is Not An Isolated Problem.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 2900 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8D83FG. Ford Explorer 2015 problem was reported in MOUND, MN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

Nov 13, 2014

Unknown Or Other Ford 2015
Ford
Location
Yonkers, NY
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 50

I Am Going Into The 5th Month Of Leasing My 2015 ford explorer And I Am Not Happy With This Vehicle. Currently The Odometer Reads 2,100 Miles And They Were Not Enjoyable Miles. I Have To Say That This 2015 explorer Has The Worst Design On The Inside That I’ve Ever Seen. The Outward Visibility From The Driver’s Seat For The Front And Rear Of This Vehicle Is Severely Compromised By The Huge C Pillars Which Create Blind Spots Within The Vehicle. Although This Model Has Blis, I’ve Almost Been In 2 Collisions Because I Cannot See My Right Side Rear Or Left Side Rear Due To The Faulty Design Of The Interior Of The Vehicle. The Blis System Did Not Warn Me That There Was A Tractor Trailer Approaching Me On The Left Side. This Is A Problem That The Dealer Cannot Remedy. This Is A Factory Design Flaw That Is Going To Get Someone Seriously Injured Or Killed Because The Driver Can’t See What’s Coming. The Blis Is Useless. Navigating Through Tight Spaces Is Almost Impossible Because You Cannot See The Front End To Judge Your Distance Between Vehicles/objects And The Wide Front Pillars Also Add To The Frustration Of Trying To See What’s On The Side Of The Vehicle. The Blower Motor For The Heating/ac System Just Turns Off As Well As The Dashboard Cluster Lights And Then Comes Back On After 10 – 15 Seconds. This Has Occurred A Few Times. There Is A Burning Smell Inside The Vehicle Upon Start Up. Not Sure If It’s Exhaust Gas Entering The Vehicle Or If It’s Something In The Heater/ac System. (i Was Told At The Dealership That This Is A Common Problem And Will Dissipate After A Few Thousand Miles). Not The Answer That I Wanted To Hear. I Do Not Feel Safe Driving This Vehicle. The Sensation Of Not Feeling Safe While Driving Makes For Unsafe Driving. My Life And The Lives Of My Passengers And Other Motorists Is Of My Utmost Concern. I Am Returning This Suv To ford.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 900 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8D89FG. Ford Explorer 2015 problem was reported in YONKERS, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 50 mph.

Feb 18, 2015

Unknown Or Other Ford 2015
Ford
Location
Pagosa Springs, CO
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 25

Returning Home From Church When All Of A Sudden I Could Not Steer The Car. It Was Veering To The Left And I Could Not Straighten It Up. There Was A Thud And Dirt And Dust And The Car Stopped. Got Out And The Front Left Suspension Was On The Ground. No Ticket, No Nothing Because I Did Not Hit Anything. ford Has Made A Decision That Is Was Not A Car Failure. We Ask For The Findings Of There Inspections And Was Told Thy Did Not Release Those To The Customer. We Really Would Like To See Their Report As I Did Not Hit Anything And Want To Know Why This Happened.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 4000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8D87FG. Ford Explorer 2015 problem was reported in PAGOSA SPRINGS, CO. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

Mar 15, 2015

Unknown Or Other Ford 2015
Ford
Location
Garland, TX
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 70

During And After Acceleration At Any Speed There Is A Very Strong Sulphur Smell In The Cabin Of The Vehicle. It Appears To Enter From The Rear Of The Vehicle And It Must Be Exhausted By Opening The Windows Every Single Time. The Fumes Contain Co2 And Are Very Dangerous To All Within The Vehicle. All Passengers Complain Of A Light Headache And Nausea.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 2100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8D82FG. Ford Explorer 2015 problem was reported in GARLAND, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 70 mph.

June 14, 2015

Unknown Or Other Ford 2015
Ford
Location
Kissimmee, FL
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 60

This New 2015 ford explorer Produces A Very Strong Exhaust/sulfer Smell Inside The Passenger Cabin With All The Windows Up And The Rear A.c. On. The Smell Is Very Strong When The Vehicle Is Rapidly Accelerated. With The Rear A.c. Off, And The Front On, The Smell Is Greatly Diminished, But Still Noticeable During Hard Acceleration. The Dealership Has Verified The Problem And Attempted To Fix It Four Different Times. ford Has A Tsb On The Problem That Includes Sealing The Rear A.c. Intake Ports And Sealing The Rear Seams At The Back Of The Vehicle, But None Of These Repairs Have Reduced The Strong Odor And Noxious Fumes Inside The Cabin. The Fumes Are Strong Enough To Cause Burning Of The Eyes, Throat And Nose.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 3000 miles. Ford Explorer 2015 problem was reported in KISSIMMEE, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

Sept 01, 2014

Unknown Or Other Ford 2015
Ford
Location
Pasadena, MD
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 65

When Accelerating The Vehicle A Strong Exhaust Smell Fills The Cabin. The Smell Is Overwhelming And Causes A Scratchy Sensation In Your Throat. This Is My Second explorer (the First Was “lemon-lawed” For The Same Issue). ford Was Quick To Replace The First Vehicle, However Not As Eager To Replace The Second. I Have A Small Child And Worry About His Health And How It Is Affecting Him. Someone Really Needs To Look Into This Issue. Buyers Beware…i Will Lose Money If I Have To Trade This Vehicle. Think Twice Before You Purchase An explorer.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 7500 miles. Ford Explorer 2015 problem was reported in PASADENA, MD. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Nov 01, 2014

Unknown Or Other Ford 2015
Ford
Location
Emerald Isle, NC
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 70

Exhaust Smell Enters Cabin Under Hard Acceleration

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 2800 miles. Ford Explorer 2015 problem was reported in EMERALD ISLE, NC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 70 mph.

July 11, 2015

Unknown Or Other Ford 2015
Ford
Location
Deltona, FL
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 40

Same Problem As Many. Exhaust Smell At ~3,500 Rpm. No Fix, Second explorer With The Same Problem. Returned Last One Under The Lemon Law Program.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1 miles. Ford Explorer 2015 problem was reported in DELTONA, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

June 01, 2015

Unknown Or Other Ford 2015
Ford
Location
Torrance, CA
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 65

I Purchased A Brand New 2015 ford explorer Xlt, 3.5 V6, In November 2014. At Approximately 7,000 Miles (beginning In April 2015) I Started To Notice A Rotten Egg Odor Inside The Vehicle During Acceleration, While Entering The Freeway. The Smell Would Occur Especially During A Hard Acceleration. The Smell Was Noticeable While The A/c System Was On “vent” And “recirculate” Mode. On 7/6/2015 I Took The explorer To My ford Dealership And They Acknowledged The Complaint And Stated There Was A Service Bulletin 14-130 To Correct The Problem. Their Description On The Fix, Was That A Special Air-filter Located Inside The Rear Bumper Area Needed To Be Replace. They Stated That The Smell Is Coming From My Evap-canister. I Left The explorer There For The Repair And It Took Them Almost Two Days. They Said, It Was At Least A Full Days Labor To Fix The Problem Because They Had To Remove The Whole Rear Bumper And Other Parts, Etc. After The Repair Was Made, A Week Later, I Was Able To Take The explorer On The Freeway And Still Noticed The Rotten Egg Odor During Acceleration. This Time The Odor Is Only Noticeable During “vent” Mode When The A/c Is Turned On. I Am Contacting My Dealer Today About This. I Am Very Concerned About This Issue With Other ford Owners Because These “fumes” In The Cabin Area Most Likely Are Affecting Your Health And Other Passengers.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 8000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7D89FG. Ford Explorer 2015 problem was reported in TORRANCE, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Apr 14, 2015

Unknown Or Other Ford 2015
Ford
Location
Rives Junction, MI
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 30

2015 ford explorer Has Foul Smell Inside The Cabin. Really Noticeable When The Windows Are Down Or Sunroof Is Open. Took Vehicle To Dealer (varsity ford) That It Was Purchased From And It Had A Technical Bulletin. Technical Bulletin Was Performed And Released Back. Vehicle Still Has Same Issue. Now The Dealer Is Saying There Is Nothing They Can Do Until The ford Engineers Investigate. I Installed A Carbon Monoxide Sniffer Into The Vehicle And Found 45 Ppm Of Carbon Monoxide Entering The Vehicle While Driving Down The Road. Took Vehicle Back To The Dealer And Explained The Issue. There Telling Me There Is Nothing At This Time They Can Do Without ford Releasing A Fix ????????

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 12000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8D81FG. Ford Explorer 2015 problem was reported in RIVES JUNCTION, MI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

July 08, 2015

Unknown Or Other Ford 2015
Ford
Location
Warren, OR
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 45

Driving Home Up A Hill With A Newly Purchased 2015 ford explorer My Wife And I Noticed A Bad Smell Like Exhaust Fumes; We Put This Down To The New Engine/exhaust Burning Off Any Factory Grease Etc. Subsequent Trips With All Of My Family In The Suv We All Experienced A Foul Exhaust And Sulfur Smell When Going Up A Hill Or Accelerating Above 3k Rpm; There Were No Other Vehicles In Front Of Us To Blame For The Odor. We Have Taken The Suv To The Dealer 4 Times Now And They In Conjuction With ford Technical Support Cannot Find The Root Cause. They Have Replaced/ Installed: Egr Valve Cover (tech Bulletin), Both Exhaust Down Pipes, Front Transfer Case. The Dealer Has No Test Equipment To Find The Problem Or Confirm We Are Smelling Engine Exhaust Containing Toxic Gases Including Co.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 20 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8D8XFG. Ford Explorer 2015 problem was reported in WARREN, OR. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

Apr 12, 2015

Unknown Or Other Ford 2015
Ford
Location
Round Rock, TX
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 50

During Acceleration (getting On Highway, Passing, Etc.) The Cab Fills With Exhaust Smell. We Immediately Have To Roll The Windows Down To Get The Smell Out Of The Vehicle. Frequent Passengers And Driver With Asthma. We Have Taken explorer To Dealer Several Times But Only Left It Twice As They Said They Only Had 2 Technical Bulletin’s From ford On Suggested Fixes. Still Smells. During A Google Search We Found This Has Been Going On Since 2011. Had We Have Known We Would Not Have Bought This ford explorer.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 7877 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7D84FG. Ford Explorer 2015 problem was reported in ROUND ROCK, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 50 mph.

June 01, 2015

Unknown Or Other Ford 2015
Ford
Location
Stafford, VA
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed

My New 2015 ford explorer Xlt Produces A Very Strong Exhaust/sulfer Smell Inside The Passenger Cabin. The Smell Is Very Strong When The Vehicle Is Rapidly Accelerated. The Dealership Has Verified The Problem And Attempted To Fix It Six Different Times. ford Knows About These Problems, But None Of These Repairs Have Reduced The Strong Odor And Noxious Fumes Inside The Cabin.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7D85FG. Ford Explorer 2015 problem was reported in STAFFord, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Nov 03, 2014

Unknown Or Other Ford 2015
Ford
Location
Wilburton, OK
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 70

I Own A Brand New 2015 ford explorer. We Purchased The Vehicle About A Month Ago. The Second Day We Had The Vehicle We Noticed A Strong Smell That Would Fill The Cabin Of The Car During Acceleration. We Thought The Smell Was Just The “new” Burning Off The Engine, Fast Forward To A Month Later And The Problem Is Just As Strong As Ever. I Was Curious So I Googled The Issue And To My Shock There Are Thousands Of Cases With The Exact Same Problem. There Is Even A Class Action Lawsuit In Place At This Time About This Very Problem. I Have Tried Contacting ford With No Help Whatsoever. I Am Concerned About The Safety And Well Being Of My Family In What Was Supposed To Be A Reliable And Safe Vehicle. Cases Of Carbon Monoxide Illness From Exhaust Fumes Are Nothing That Needs To Be Pushed Aside.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 65 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7D81FG. Ford Explorer 2015 problem was reported in WILBURTON, OK. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 70 mph.

Sept 27, 2015

Unknown Or Other Ford 2015
Ford
Location
Dunedin, FL
Model Explorer
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 55

New (dealer Demo), 2015 explorer Xlt With ~6000 Miles On It. The Vehicle Cabin Fills With Acrid, “hair/plastic Burning” Smelling Fumes When Under Heavy Acceleration; Mostly At >4500rpm While Trying To Pass Or Enter Traffic. The Fumes Cause Headache And Nausea And Actually Leave A Long Lasting, Burning/oily Taste In The Mouth Afterwards. It Takes All Windows Open For Many Minutes To Clear Most Of The Fumes/smell Out. The Physical Effects Seem To Last For Up To 30 Minutes. This Appears To Be A Condition That Has Existed Since The 2011 Model And Is Still Present In The 2015 Model.

Mileage was 6200 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1fm5k7d80fg. Ford Explorer 2015 problem was reported in DUNEDIN, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

Oct 01, 2015

2015 Ford Explorer problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Ford Explorer, driving a 2015 Ford Explorer, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported FordUnknown Or Other problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>