Ford Explorer 2016 Engine problems, defects and reviews. Updated October 12, 2017

Ford Explorer Engine problems and reviews: 152.

If you are driving a 2016 Ford Explorer, or planning to buy one, review owner-reported reported Engine problems and defects.

Engine Ford 2016
Ford
Location
Columbia, SC
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed 0

Radiator Cooling Fan Squeals Loudly When Car Is Idle Or Driving Slowly. Car Has Already Been In The Shop To Replace The Fan Once. New Fan Began Squealing Again Within 30 Minutes Of Driving After Repair. Car Only Has 4000 Miles On It. Have Read Other Complaints Of Faulty Cooling Fan Bearings. Afraid Fan Will Stop Working And Cause Fire Or Overheating.

Mileage was 4000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7D82GG. Ford Explorer 2016 problem was reported in COLUMBIA, SC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Feb 25, 2016

Engine Ford 2016
Ford
Location
Phoenix, AZ
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed

My 2016 ford explorer Is Making A High Pitch Sound When The Vehicle Is Being Cut Off. The Sound Has Been Diagnosed As A Bad Cooling Fan Bearing. I’m Not Sure Of The Extent But This Cannot Be A Good Thing If The Bearing Is Bad For The Cooling Fan. A Bad Bearing Could Lead To Other Issues If It Is Already Bad And The Car Is Only 4 Months Old. My Vehicle Has Been In The Shop Multiple (6) Times For Just The Fan Itself. The Dealership Could Not Fix It And Enlisted The Assistance Of The Manufacturers Tech Line And Still No Resolution. My Vehicle Is Currently In The Shop And I Had To Involve The Better Business Bureau’s Autoline Because The Vehicle Has Violated My States Lemon Law. I Wanted To Make Sure To Report This Issue So That Something Can Be Done. This Is Definently A Defect In The Manufacturing Of The Fan And I Have Had 3 Fans In My Vehicle And Each One Has The Defect. The First Date I Reported This Issue Was On 01/07/2016.

Mileage was 1505 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7D88GG. Ford Explorer 2016 problem was reported in PHOENIX, AZ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Jan 07, 2016

Engine Ford 2016
Ford
Location
Dearborn, MI
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed 45

Had My ford explorer 6-mo’s And Was Driving With Family Approx 45-mph In Traffic On A Main Street When The Gas Padel Just Stop Working Had To Try To Get To Side Of Road, Very Dangerous !! . Car Was At ford Dealer Getting Fixed From 3/14- 3/25 , It Needed A New Throttle Body Air Intake, (at4z*9e926*b ) And Motor Asy.

Mileage was 10000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7D80GG. Ford Explorer 2016 problem was reported in DEARBORN, MI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

Mar 14, 2016

Engine Ford 2016
Ford
Location
Live Oak, TX
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed 65

A Week Ago The Vehicle Showed 45 Miles Till Empty. Backed Out Of The Drive Way To Get Gas And The Car Lost All Power. Dash Showed Engine Light And Air Bag. Filled Up With Gas And The Lights Went Away. Today, Going Down The Highway I Lost All Power. Talk About Accident Waiting To Happen! Luckily I Was Able To Cruise To A Exit And Into A Parking Lot. Had To Call ford Towing To Come And Get Me. This Is A 2016 ford explorer. Only 7000 Miles. Brand New Vehicle Should Not Have This Type Of Problem. Then The Sensors Around The Car Go Off When There Is Nothing Around. I Know I Am Not The Only Person With This Lost Of Power Issue. I Believe That The Only Way To Actually Get Some Assistance With This Problem Is After Someone Gets Hurt And Sues ford. Another Problem Is There Is A Knocking Sound As Soon As The Car Is Turned On And Driven. You Feel And The Steer Wheel Knock Along With The Sound.

Mileage was 7000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7D86GG. Ford Explorer 2016 problem was reported in LIVE OAK, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Apr 11, 2016

Engine Ford 2016
Ford
Location
Easley, SC
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed 35

As The Vehicle Is Being Driven, The “wrench” Light In Cluster Panel Came On And Vehicle Went Into “limp Mode”. After Initial Incident, The Car Restarted Back In Normal Mode. However, The Same Incident Began To Occur Several Times Per Day Until The Vehicle Could Be Taken In For Service. The Dealer Diagnosed The Problem As The Throttle Body Needed To Be Replaced. The Vehicle Is Brand New With Only 6,850 Miles. The Dealership Has Had The Vehicle For A Week Now And Still Can’t Tell Me When The Part Will Be Available To Get Vehicle Back On The Road. ford Has Had An Ongoing Problem With Throttle Bodies For Years, Why Can’t They Fix The Problem?

Mileage was 6850 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7F86GG. Ford Explorer 2016 problem was reported in EASLEY, SC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Apr 17, 2016

Engine Ford 2016
Ford
Location
Loveland, OH
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed 35

Sudden Loss Of Acceleration, With Service Indicators Lighting On Dashboard. Pulled Off Road, Restarted, Worked Ok For 10 Miles, Then The Problem Returned. This Time, The Car Would Not Restart. Had Car Towed To ford Dealer, And They Said It Was The Throttle Body And That They Have No Eta Due To The Part Not Being Available Anywhere. The Car Has Been Driven For 4 Months, And The Fact That This Simple Part Failed And No Replacements Are In-stock Anywhere Indicates To Me There Is Some Widespread Problem.

Mileage was 6400 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K8F87GG. Ford Explorer 2016 problem was reported in LOVELAND, OH. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Apr 25, 2016

Engine Ford 2016
Ford
Location
Avondale, AZ
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed

Cooling Fan Shut Down Noise, Since New The Engine Cooling Fan Makes A Lot Of Noise When “spinning Down” At The Fan Comes To A Stop/shutting Down Engine. Fan Is Working, But For How Long?

Mileage was 7200 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7F85GG. Ford Explorer 2016 problem was reported in AVONDALE, AZ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Apr 27, 2016

Engine Ford 2016
Ford
Location
Fort Walton Beach, FL
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed 0

On 22 Apr 2016 Our Son Was In Town Visiting When He Was Looking Over Our New Vehicle And Notice That The Screws That Hold The Belt Tensioner In Place Were Almost All The Way Out. Since My Son Is A Mechanic He Advised Us Not To Drive The Vehicle Since This Could Cause A Catastrophic Malfunction Leading To A Serious Accident. The Vehicle Only Has 1681 Miles On It And We Immediately Contact The Dealership Which Also Told Us To Contact Roadside Assistance And Have The Vehicle Towed To The Dealership. The Dealership Tighten The Bolts Down And According To The Invoice (attached) That The Bolts Never Were Tighten Down At The Factory. I’ve Included A Couple Photos. I’ve Contacted ford And Opened A Case File Since This Appears To Be Issues At The Plant And Who Knows How Many Other Vehicles On The Road Have This Same Problem. The Quality Control Inspections Should Have Identified This Issue And Fixed It! After I Filed The Complaint (case # Cas-9331585) I Was Told That No One Will Probably Get Back With Me Regarding This Issue. I Had Requested To Talk With Either A ford Safety Representative Of The Quality Control Manager At The Chicago ford Plant To Express My Concerns. I Believe ford Should Put Out An Immediate Service Notice To Have Individuals Check The Tensioner Bolts On Their 2016 ford explorers Since This Can Lead To A Major Malfunction Which Could Cause A Serious If Not Deadly Accident.

Mileage was 1681 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):1FM5K7F87GG. Ford Explorer 2016 problem was reported in FORT WALTON BEACH, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Apr 22, 2016

Engine Ford 2016
Ford
Location
Fair Lawn, NJ
Model Explorer
System Engine
Speed 25

My Car (ford explorer 2016) Engine Stalled (during Driving/motion) In The Middle Of The Street (i Was Very Lucky It Did Not Happen On A Highway!). The Engine Light Indication Turned On. ford Dealer Told Me It Is The

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>